Target National Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Target National Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Target National Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Approved Online
Date Reviewed: 2008-07-24 19:06:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Okay I think I'm going crazy with this whole application thing. Just approved for this card instantly EX 588 :( EQ 633 TU 655 CL $1000 APR % ???




Title: Target Cut My Credit Line
Date Reviewed: 2008-09-22 08:04:44 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Well I know when I got my card with target when I was 18 they gave me that dammmmmm $200 that they give everyone but over the years I worked my way up to $4500 but as of this pass week they cut my credit line for not using the card for 1year




Title: They Suck
Date Reviewed: 2008-11-09 19:07:47 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was denied a card from them because my phone number is unlisted. I expected to be able to call them and fax them a phone bill or something, but they said 'no.' If I don't have a listed phone number, I can't have their card. They also won't take cell phone numbers or work numbers. I wasn't going to even argue with her over their dinky card with probably a $200 limit. They don't even really offer any rewards. Unbelievable.




Title: One Year Anniversary!
Date Reviewed: 2008-11-21 00:07:36 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Just FYI comment here for those of you wondering about the Target Visa rewards card. My family and I were out Christmas shopping last November and we were at the register after racking up over $500 in X-mas gifts and I used my Visa debit card to pay... The cashier said I was pre-approved for a Target Visa card and asked for my DL. I obliged and received an initial CL of $2,500 on the spot, plus received 10% off of my purchase if I used my new card. Things have been great with target thus far. I recommend this Visa card if you're a Target shopper like we are. One last comment, it is the lowest line of credit I have in my arsenal, and they have not automatically raised my CL to date, nor have I requested a CL increase.




Title: Worst Card
Date Reviewed: 2009-01-09 22:04:45 | Recommended?: No

Review: I have had this card since 2004 with a $1500 limit and currently have a 733EQ and called in to see if I can get a CLI. They told me that I cant get an increase because I don't have a real estate or mortgage. A MORTGAGE what are you talking about. I need to own a house to get a CLI. They are nuts!! His card is the lowest CL I have. I immediately closed the account... Never going to target again!!




Title: Don't Know What To Say
Date Reviewed: 2009-03-01 21:58:31 | Recommended?: No

Review: Hello FG, Iam new to the website I went online to try to apply for the Target store card with a credit score of EQ 643 AND TU 660 I was sure I would get approved guess what!!! Big fat DENIED!!! Now the funny thing is my best friend applied right with me online she has judgment and collections that she owes to everybody and there ancestors (I LOVE HER TO DEATH!) and got approved for 250 dollars!! R U kidding me?? These people are so wishy washy I don't know what kind of review to give to this company




Title: I Love Target (*:*)
Date Reviewed: 2009-03-29 20:47:24 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was approve for the target credit card $200 on oct. 2008 and I got an increase to $300 Jan 2009... Im looking forward to upgrade to Visa (*:*)




Title: First Store Card After BK7!
Date Reviewed: 2009-06-12 19:46:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I just applied on line and was hoping for the Visa but got approved for the store card with a $300 limit... 16.99% apr.. I have a bk7 filed 5/07 and discharged 8/07... Haven't been approved for a store card yet since the bk... Also haven't applied for a credit card or anything for that matter since August 08. No lates on credit report at all... Just the infamous bk7! my utilization on my report is kind of high so if you are contemplating applying for this reason go ahead and give it a try... As stated above I got approved with a bk 2years old and high utlization (not high dollar amount... Because I don't have a lot of credit to use) and a small medical collection account from 6 months ago.




Title: The Reviews Made Me Do It!
Date Reviewed: 2009-07-01 15:00:37 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: K, stumbled across this site today. Was looking for one like this months ago. Any-who, I have been cleaning up my credit. So I said "what the hell". Most of the reviews encouraged me. Have my Macy's card for over 4+ yrs. Paid up-to-date. So applied for the REDcard online. Wasn't approved instantly =~( Which I sort of expected, but felt hopeful. I've paid off all past judgments (only 2) over 2 yo. I have no open collections. Emailed received telling me that "We Need More Time to Review..."?? Confession: I'll be type pissed if they dis me... Wish me luck. Should I still go in-store and apply? Can't handle the face-to-face rejection tho... Lol




Title: Ok, I Gave In And Did It Again....
Date Reviewed: 2009-07-22 21:37:25 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Sure did. This is my 3rd application with them. They sent me a letter wanting a copy of my utility bill and drivers license. Sent it in, and got the card in like 2 weeks after that... And you guessed it; the infamous 200 CL... Scores at the time were; EQ 612, EX 608 and TU 622... I am kind've regreting now since I only got the 200 CL, but I will hold on to it for now... When is the next credit addicts club meeting??? Lol...




Title: Approved, But...
Date Reviewed: 2009-11-07 05:44:30 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card so I can take advantage of the 10% off they offer when you are approved. I plan on buying an xbox 360 as a Christmas gift for someone so getting $40 bucks off seems like a good idea. I was approved for this card on October 18th of this year. I still have yet to receive my card in the mail due to address complications but I should be getting it any day now. I'm excited to have this card but I see so many people saying bad things about the Target card. I will just have to report back in a few months or so after I get some good use out of it. Does anyone happen to know if they automatically upgrade you to a Target Visa after good payment history?




Title: Great Card!
Date Reviewed: 2009-11-12 18:07:00 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received this card in 2007. I received a credit limit increase this year - not bad considering these economic times. Great coupons and low monthly payment.




Title: Low CL High Interest Rate
Date Reviewed: 2010-06-15 07:28:31 | Recommended?: No

Review: We received our Target Red card 3 years ago this month. Originally our CL was $300.00 and I believe they bumped our CL up to $500.00 by December 2007. Our interest rate went from 21% on up to 30%. We have never been late, always made more than the minimum payment if not PIF. We are very careful on how we use the card, never spending more then 30% or what we can afford to pay. Remember plastic is not your money and you should never spend more then you can afford. Having the card now for 3 years, we would expect a better CL or have been upgraded to a Target Visa by now. Have considered closing out the account after we buy our house, since the CL is so little. You also have to spend a lot to get that 10% discount and the discount only applies when you use your Red Card.




Title: Target Check Card
Date Reviewed: 2010-07-17 14:34:54 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I recently was in Target in Fort Wayne Indiana doing some shopping and was asked to apply for a Target Red Card, seeing as how I Bkd on them back in 2002 I figured I wouldnt get approved, however with the decline letter a seperate form came attached inviting me to apply for the check card. You can still get the 1% credit to your school of choice and starting this fall, they are offering a program to all Red Card Holders of 5% off your total bill! So there is still a huge perk to having this card! And yes I was approved and received the card 2 weeks after mailing in the app with a voided check! They do not pull your credit bureau but they will run you through chex systems.




Title: Received An Increase
Date Reviewed: 2010-11-02 11:29:55 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got my Target card in 2005. I started with a $200 credit limit and a 21% APR. I received my first increase on 4/06 to $500 with the same APR. Today 11-2010, I went online to pay my bill and noticed I have received a credit increase and my new limit is $1,000. My current scores are Equifax 720, Experian 673 and TransUnion is 710.




Title: Also Approved
Date Reviewed: 2010-11-17 07:47:13 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I went in to customer service and applied. They punched in a little info and then the machine spit my temporary card out. I now can save 5% on every purchase I make with my card.Credit score 684 with a limit of $400.00 at 19%




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2011-07-25 19:40:17 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: With a exp score of 725, got approved with $200 limit....good enough for me.




Title: Approved!!
Date Reviewed: 2011-11-19 10:57:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card in store having been turned down 18 months ago for having a previous card that went bad.. I was hesitant.. I was approved with a very low CL but that's fine because I know it will increase.. They pulled EQ.. Fico of 654




Title: 2 Year Anniversary
Date Reviewed: 2012-09-28 21:55:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I've had this card for two years and its great. I've only gotten one CLI but its ok I guess. I hear many people aren't even getting decent limits on theirs when they open an account. I started off at 1k and they increased it to $1.5 k after 8 months.




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2014-06-21 12:30:43 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: $300 Credit Limit 640 Score




Title: Approved After Being Denied Two Years Back.
Date Reviewed: 2014-06-27 10:25:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Target denied me two years back for having lack of revolving credit history, so I decided to try again on a whim. EQ has one baddie (a collection), several good TL's with AAoA over two years, 21% UTIL, 6 inquiries (most from 2012). EQ08 score 655. Was instantly approved at the register, $400 limit. Was able to charge to the card and get my 5% off (though that barely covers the sales tax here) and since the purchase was only $12 I went over to Guest Services and paid it off right then. Plan on using this often since there's a Target close to my house. Glad to add to my store card arsenal.




Title: Instant Approval Online
Date Reviewed: 2015-08-27 00:34:26 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Instant approval online, 300 start CL. Will see if it grows over time. 617 EQ Fico




Title: 2nd Chance
Date Reviewed: 2015-10-13 01:29:42 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Filed BK-13 in 2006, had to include Target, applied a few weeks ago and got the 7-10 day notice, I felt it meant I was being declined, but the card came and was approved for $500 limit. Seems things are finally turning around for me




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-11-23 18:24:23 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I filed BK which was discharged 9/2015. This is my first card post BK. Soft pull through Transunion. CL $500




Title: Love Target!
Date Reviewed: 2018-01-20 16:11:05 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I closed on my home last year (smiling). We live close by a super target so I decided to see about getting a card. I applied in store @ oct17 and was approved for $500. I love the everyday 5% off and I save a lot with the new "cartwheel" in their app. Lots of coupons and discounts. I pay on time and mostly in full so no issues with the card. I had a target card previously but they closed it ($200 limit) for inactivity. I'll be using this one heavily so I won't have to worry about that. The limits are very low as expected, but I'm use to it. I'm not sure of my score at the time, maybe high 600s




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch