Synchrony Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Synchrony Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Synchrony Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Approved Online
Date Reviewed: 2015-05-26 00:22:16 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied online and got message that I needed to call and verify information before they could complete my application. Called and went over typical info, approved for 800 CL.. Not amazing but gotta start somewhere.. HP Trans union.. Time to garden for a while. . This complete my application spree.. Wal mart - 700 Chevron - 400 Phillips 66 - 400 Amazon - 600




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-06-16 19:05:57 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This is a great card to have in case of a medical emergency for you or your pet!!! Approved for a CL of $1000




Title: Approved Finally!!!
Date Reviewed: 2015-06-16 19:10:47 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: It took close to 2years of applying, but I finally got it!!! Approved instantly online with a $400CL




Title: Approved Instantly In Store
Date Reviewed: 2015-06-16 19:16:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was not really expecting to get approved, but I tried anyway while I was in checkout, to my surprise, approved for a CL of $250




Title: Vacation Issues
Date Reviewed: 2015-07-26 22:18:43 | Recommended?: No

Review: I picked up the Walmart Credit Card and used it for over a year. Now, my reason for a slightly negative review may be a positive for some, but it caused a great deal of embarrassment and undesired hassles that I did not enjoy. I went on vacation with my wife to Florida (live in Michigan). I drove down to the hotel that we would be staying at and went to check-in at the front desk only to have my card denied. Now, for anyone that has had this happen to them, it is a total embarrassment when this happens. I called up the credit card company and they said that they noticed transactions happening in various states and thought that theft may have occurred. I was able to clear up the situation and everything was resolved, but the amount of embarrassment was not worth keeping the card active, especially being that this was not the first occurrence of this. I will say that customer service was great when I had to deal with them, this situation included.




Title: Instant Approval Online
Date Reviewed: 2015-08-27 00:52:27 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Instant approval online. 600 CL to start. I use amazon often like the 5% credit back




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-09-02 13:42:15 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was approved for this card to my surprise they gave me CL of $1000 my credit score 631/621...




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-09-02 13:48:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Instant approval online don't know the credit limit waiting for card ..will up date.




Title: Denied Denied Denied
Date Reviewed: 2015-09-06 23:49:07 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have been trying endlessly to get my foot in, but I am always getting denied. Synchrony just hates me. I get approved left and right for all comenity bank accounts, but no love from Synchrony bank. I don't know what I have to do to get approved. I've been trying every month! Now I have too many inquiries and need to wait about a year before I can apply again. Need to wait until some of these inquiries drop off. I shop Walmart almost daily since they are so close by me. My check goes to Walmart! If you have any suggestions, I am willing to listen.




Title: Instantly Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-09-22 17:07:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied online and instantly approved with a $600 credit limit. FICO scores at the time of approval are 611EQ, 635TU, 616EX, they pulled my transunion credit report which thankfully is my highest credit score.




Title: Pain
Date Reviewed: 2016-02-16 17:16:30 | Recommended?: No

Review: When it was a GE Card it was pretty good, now that Sychrony has it, not so much. The interest is way high if you go past a promo period, I used it for financing med/dental and pet care. Paid it off and let it go, would rather user a regular card with lower interest.




Title: Interest Rate High And Non-adjustable
Date Reviewed: 2016-02-27 17:03:17 | Recommended?: No

Review: Writing to everyone about the Walmart MasterCard. Yes, Synchrony Bank is generous in issuing credit cards for those that may have fair to good credit, however, their rate schedule for interest is very deceptive. They boast that they offer a rate for Type 1 accounts at 16.9%, then Type 2 accounts are at 19.9%, and finally, the catchall. Type 3 accounts have an issued interest rate of 22.9%. Once I received my card, they started the account with an initial credit line of $1800.00, and now it's up to a generous $7500.00. However, don't think about carrying a balance or charging a large balance and carry it, you are going to be stuck at 22.9%. The only way I was advised of obtaining the lower interest rate(s) was at time of credit account issuance. You need to have a credit score of 820 or better! Huh? Most Americans have credit scores if great between 750-790. It's un-obtainable. Synchrony Bank will NOT reduce your interest rate if you call them to try an negotiate either. I would think twice before applying for this MasterCard type, as you can do much better with other bank issuers. A good note to the card use is that they offer from time-to-time special financing options on big ticket items with NO interest between 6-24 months depending on the offer and how much you spend. Another positive note about the card is there is NO annual fee. Good luck folks!




Title: Instant Approval!!
Date Reviewed: 2016-04-16 15:53:16 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Boy I'm loving this new card...I like to shop at WalMart, and thought I would give this one a try. They sell everything, and I gives me a chance to become established with another bank. This is issued by Synchrony Bank. I had no accounts with them, so I took a chance, WHAMO! Instant approval $1000 starting line. I was so happy! Card arrived quickly, 5 days. I wish it would of been the MasterCard, but I have had read some reviews at other sites that when you get established with them, they may upgrade you. So I intend to do a perfect job with it. APR is 23.15%, not a good idea to carry a balance. But they have special financing offers 6 months no interest on purchases of $150-298.99 IF you pay by the end of the promotional date. 12 months on purchases of $299 or more. LOVING THIS...but you MUST pay it off within the promotional period or you will get hit with interest. No annual fee. You earn monthly statement credits of 3% on walmart.com purchases, 2% on Murphy USA and Walmart gas stations, and 1% at Walmart...and you can you this card at Sam's club also. One thing I LOVE is the quick cash feature. When you are at the register paying for your purchase, you can get cash back up to $100, in increments of $20 subject to available credit of course...and its billed as a PURCHASE!!! So if you PIF there is no interest on the cash advance. Save a trip to the ATM. I love this card, and proud to have it. Very useful to have, rewards too! I think i made a good choice with this one...Oh, and they also give you your FICO score monthly from TransUnion for FREE if you sign up for electronic statements. Website is east to navigate, pay on line or at the store. $0 fraud liability for any authorized charges. Thank you Synchrony Bank!!




Title: Great Credit Builder
Date Reviewed: 2016-05-16 19:58:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was instantly approved by Synchrony's Walmart credit card with only a one month History. I was given a low $400 credit limit. A month after I asked for an increase online and my line of credit was raised to $700. I did some research and came to the understanding that if you call the number of the back of your credit card and talk do a customer service representative you will get a higher credit limit, which is true. I called and the customer service asked me how much I wanted and I blurted out $2000 dollars and she said "ok, let me see if we can get you approved for $2000" then she said... "congratulations, your new credit limit is $2000 dollars and it is available to use immediately". I think I should have said a much higher number but, may be next time. My advise... Call and ask for a credit line increase and aim high. Synchrony bank is a very good bank. So far I have been approved by 6 of their credit cards with less then 7 months history and all, right after my walmart card, have started out with more than $1000 dollar credit limit




Title: No Interest For 6 Months!
Date Reviewed: 2016-05-31 19:19:16 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I moved into my new home just over a year ago. I needed several items for the house. I went to Lowe's and signed up for the Lowe's credit card. I was approved on the spot and was given a paper card (the real card came about 10 days later). I love the perks of this card. You can get 10% off each purchase or free financing for six months (on larger purchases). I ended up buying a washer, microwave, dehumidifier and several other little items. I used the card and paid all of these off within 6 months. I love that I wasn't charged any interest. If you need to buy things for your home, Lowe's is a great card to have.




Title: Excellent Card For Homeowners
Date Reviewed: 2016-06-20 17:30:05 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: We got a card 2 weeks ago with a $5,000 limit. Customer service was very helpful in answering our question of whether it was 0% interest for the first 6 months on all purchases during that time, or just the first one. So far we have used it for 2 major purchases and have had no issues. This is a good card card to have when you take pride in your home and have properties you need to maintain. Highly recommended.




Title: Comes In Handy
Date Reviewed: 2016-06-27 14:20:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I find that I use my Walmart Mastercard all too often. It's great because you don't have to only use it at Walmart. Ever since they stopped having lay away the credit card has come in handy. The interest rate is not the best though. I only use the card when I know that I can pay it off each month in full.




Title: Synchrony Will Refuse Every CLI You Request Regardless Of Your Credit Rating
Date Reviewed: 2016-07-28 23:42:30 | Recommended?: No

Review: I've had this card for 2 years. Initial limit was $300. After 6 months of small projects & parts and an excellent payment history I needed a new Washer & Dryer. I called CS and asked for aa CLI, explained why I needed it and was given a measly $500 for a total of $800. I wanted to take advantage of 12 months interest free and the pair I had chosen were on sale and I was ready to go ahead and buy... The CLI ended that thought and made me rethink my relationship with Lowe's. Home Depot had no Problem with a CLI of $10,000 so guess where the new washer and dryer came from? And I received the 12 month no interest with Home Depot as well.




Title: A Lot Of Issues
Date Reviewed: 2016-08-16 18:09:11 | Recommended?: No

Review: I had an eBay credit card and quite frankly I had a lot of issues with it. Some charged my card for something I did not order. I tried to resolve the issue on my own for a month. I finally had to get the customer service department involved. Never before had I ever dealt with them. It was a horrible experience and after they resolved the issue, I canceled the card. The problems outweighed the benefits.




Title: Very Poor
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-19 13:19:27 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had to get a Care credit card when I needed a lot of dental work done. I had to fight with the customer service people several times. I even had to escelate the call up to the manager on two occasions. On both occasions the problem was rectified in my favor but no one should have to go through that much hassle to get something corrected. I made the payment on time but they applied it to some other card and then charged me a late fee and other fees. I paid it off and have since shredded the card.




Title: Wonderful Card, Love The Financing!
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-26 22:33:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card last year @ October to purchase a few gifts. Score was around 650 (could have been lower). I use this account for the promotional financing. I spend over $149 for the 6 month 0%. Today I applied for an increase and was asked how much by the automated system. I didn't want to go to high and not get approved so I asked for $500. It was approved giving me a limit of $1300. Synchrony has been know to chop limits without notice so I will keep an eye out for this one. Nonetheless, so far so good :)




Title: Be Careful When Converting
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-28 15:54:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I've card the Paypal smart connect account since 2011. It started with around $800 and about twice a year I had been getting automatic CLI's to the point of about $6000 where it is now. Using a Paypal debit card and with the smart connect account as backup funding, I was able to use the credit line anywhere I wanted. Earlier this year I recieved a letter saying that my card was upgraded to the Paypal Extras credit card. I accepted the offer. The benefits seemed good and they change their promos a lot to where you get $25 cash back when you spend $75, and such. Well, I checked my credit score last month and it had dropped about 19 points. I couldn't tell why until I noticed that on my credit report, Syncrony is reporting my Smart Connect credit line as closed and my Paypal Extras as a new account. Had I known, I would've left it the same. Now it's bringing down my average age so I will most likely have to close it. Just giving everyone a heads up if you ever decide to upgrade your card. Was very happy with the smart connect account, by the way.




Title: Fabulous!!
Date Reviewed: 2017-08-05 02:24:06 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I LOVE THIS SITE!! This is so amazing, so there's cards I've always wanted to have like the JC penny card and walmart card yet never thought i would get approved but because of this site and the reviews and feedback I decided to go for it and I'm so happy i did because i was approved for both my lowest score Experian 594 transunion 611 and equifax 588 thanks to this site giving me the courage and knowledge to apply I got the cards ive always wanted and because of this today was the best birthday ever financeglobe.com gave me the BEST Birthday gift ever! Thank you




Title: No CLI?
Date Reviewed: 2019-02-01 04:31:15 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have had this card since 2009 since Discover was the issuer/ now its SYNC and I don't understand them. They will not give me a CLI and I received the letter today and it states "We cannot grant you a credit limit increase because we are not authorized to do so:" uhhh k? You are the bank for this card yes you are authorized lol/ does anyone know SYNC's algorithm? They are SUCH a weird bank.




Title: Had To Cancel The Card They Are Completely Incompetent
Date Reviewed: 2020-01-24 03:18:41 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: When I opened the account, this company mistakenly put my husband's name on the account while listing my social security number as his. For 3 years I tried to get these people to put my name on the card, not my husbands name, since the account was under my social security number. I called repeatedly as did my husband. We both sent them documents to prove that they had the account listed as HIS name but with MY social security number. It proved to be impossible to fix, they would not concede that they had the wrong name attached to my social security number and no amount of documents and phone calls would change it. The level of incompetence was beyond belief. Using the card with his name attached to my s.s. Number was weird and felt criminal. I cancelled yesterday after they gave me the runaround yet again on the phone. Skip this card.




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch