American Express Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by American Express. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by American Express. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Approved For My 1st AMEX
Date Reviewed: 2013-06-13 03:19:06 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I went out on a limb and decided to apply to this card because I've always wanted to have an AMEX and also because I'm a skymiles member. After going on a mini app spree the past few days, I was approved for 2 other cards and said what the heck let me shoot for this amex card....and surprisingly I was approved but with a low $1000 CL. At this point I'm just happy I got in the AMEX club, and hopefully will go for that 3X CLI on my 61st day of having the card.




Title: Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2013-06-22 13:46:31 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Approved in 30 seconds. I've been debating about applying since there haven't been any comments on this card for awhile. But my recent credit scores have gone up so I decided to go for it. Have been working on my credit for the last 7 years when my rock bottom score was 519. In December 2012 I was approved with citi card diamond preferred for 1100 and Barclay for 1800. Barclay recently upped my CL to 3100.. Exp - 705 Eqiufax - 739 TU - 668 Can't wait to get my card! =)




Title: Upgraded Green To Premier Rewards Gold
Date Reviewed: 2013-07-03 12:35:06 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: June 29 2012 I became an American Express Member with the Green Card. I called June 30th to upgrade to PRG and it took 3 seconds! PRG cards in the mail.... They bragged on my history and asked if there was anything they could do better. What a great company..... Love these AMEX guys.




Title: Instantly Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2013-12-13 22:08:54 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Its heating up during this chilly winter! Was just approved for this card, limit is $12,000 with 0% APR for 15 months! I will be closing my AMEX Zync card as I now have the "DREAM" card that I always wanted! APR after promotional 0% is 18.99%! They pulled Experian with a score of 730 according to my mortgage broker! Now its time to cool back down and garden in my new home! ;)




Title: Approved! And Still Ecstatic!
Date Reviewed: 2014-03-03 10:51:40 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I've wanted to be an AMEX member for a very long time. Have worked on my credit for over 2 years. Finally yesterday I had the guts to call and apply over the phone. I knew that I had a 668 score from TU, and and 650 FICO... So I took a chance, and was approved! So very excited to further my road to financial prestige as a part of the AMEX family. Will update on my experience in a few months...




Title: Instant Approval!
Date Reviewed: 2014-03-12 01:11:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Took a turn on the creditcards.com pre-qualifier and this came up as a special offer. Apped and was instantly approved! Not sure if they did the pull on TU or EX (or both)...was pretty shocked that I was approved actually. Got $0 intro annual fee and 50K bonus MR points after spending $1K (better than the standard offers out there now). Also apped for Blue Cash Everyday but was declined...will try again for that one in a few months. Very happy to have my first AMEX. I've put in two long years of hard work cleaning my credit up and I definitely deserve this!




Title: Declined Once Again
Date Reviewed: 2014-03-30 15:50:26 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This is my dream card and after a year of waiting I was declined once again. I know that like some other lenders american express is not primarily just fico driven. They have an internal scoring system that probably did not score me out well. I have yet to receive the letter. I have had an Amex gold card for 3 years now. I would like to have a revolving credit line with them as well. scores are as follows- equifax-728 transunion-739 experian-731




Title: Blue Cash Everyday
Date Reviewed: 2014-04-03 10:31:27 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I am so glad I was approved! I was looking to transfer a $1,000 balance from another credit card that wasn't willing to reduce my interest rate. I'm not sure what my credit limit is yet, but it's at least $1027. I'm more than a little shocked that I was approved. Ficos as of today are TU 688 EQ 685 and EX 690. Annual income $20,000. No negatives, usage of about 40%, credit history varies from 5 to 15 years. Showing 20-21 accounts on each bureau. Two installment loans (one closed, one current, oldest one opened 2011) 1-2 inquiries on each bureau. It seems they pulled Experian (I'm in Ohio), which has a 15 year history




Title: FINALLY!!!
Date Reviewed: 2015-06-10 17:28:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have tried for YEARS to get a revolving credit card from AMEX! Today was THE day! I had to call since i have a credit freeze on my bureau. I have a gold charge card with them since 2011 but they have always declined my request for a revolving account... UNTIL TODAY!!! My credit line is 9,500 they pulled experian which is 748. My score just upped s few weeks ago from 719 to 748 so i figured i would give it a try. I am assuming their threshold is somewhere around 720 because they didnt approve me about a month ago when i was at 719. The rep also advised that since I already have been a member with them for a few years that he would overnight my card. He said "do you have a smile on your face because i am not letting you off the phone until you do" ha! Excellent customer service!!




Title: Recently Approved
Date Reviewed: 2015-10-20 09:14:38 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: CLI $1K. This is my second AMEX card. I'll know more about this card specifics when I get the card and welcome packet in the mail. I believe there is an introductory rate of 0%, after that I am not sure what my rate will be. Its taken me a long time to break through to AMEX, happy to be here.




Title: Excellent If You Pay Off Your Balance Monthly
Date Reviewed: 2016-01-15 18:38:38 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This is one of the few credit cards that I won't get rid of because the customer service is simply fabulous. Any time I've had an issue with an unknown charge, they've taken care of it immediately with no further action needed on my part. A lot of cards make you do all the legwork and then they might take your side or they might not. AmEx is definitely customer-oriented which is why I like them so much. The interest rate is higher on this card than my other cards and it does carry a $75 annual fee, but the cashback on a lot of every day stuff more than covers the cost - if you pay it off every month. I wouldn't recommend carrying a balance on this one due to the higher interest rate.




Title: 3rd Card From Amex
Date Reviewed: 2016-07-02 18:41:01 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was paying my bill for my amex everyday and got a pop up to apply for this card. Approved for 9K instantly, which is the same as my amex everyday? Wonder why that was. Also have amex sync card which i never use anymore. Recently had fradulent purchases on my amex card and they took care of it right away. Customer service A++. Love the cash back rewards program and the ability to request an immediate CLI online.




Title: Great Card To Save Up Points For A Vacation
Date Reviewed: 2016-07-28 23:45:03 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have been very satisfied with this card. I get a great amount of points to bank with Hilton and have spent several nights free courtesy of those points and AMEX travel services which you automatically receive access to. Customer Service is always polite and prompt.




Title: Points Are Fun!
Date Reviewed: 2016-07-28 23:47:32 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: The Plenti rewards program points are a great addition to this fun card. Lots of earning options and are a quick relief when fueling. I normally get at least two tanks of gas free each month due to fast point accumulation.




Title: Awesome Benefits!
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-10 14:54:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received my first Amex card last year. I called customer service to inquire on upgrade offers since I was at the 13 month mark. They said I could upgrade to the gold or premier gold. This was a no brainer. The regular gold does not compare to premier. With 2x points at gas stations, grocery stores, and restaurants you can earn rewards in no time. Customer service is top notch.




Title: Easy To Rack Up Points
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-29 07:06:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I love this card. It is very easy to rack up points and then you turn those points into gas! Who doesn't need gas these days. I've only had the card for about six months but I really like it so far. I almost only use this one when I am filling up my tank. I pay it off each month so the interest rate doesn't really matter to me. I did have to call once when I was charged twice for the same purchase. They took it right off, no questions asked.




Title: Surprised!!
Date Reviewed: 2016-10-17 17:35:57 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was approved for a Gold card 2 weeks ago. Opened offers on my account app and the Blue card was one of them. Applied. Response was that they had to review my application further. Thought, well no dice. Received a call from the fraud department. They needed to verify it was me that had applied. A few verification steps and i was approved. Will get card in 2-3 days. FICO-651.




Title: Wow...just Wow
Date Reviewed: 2016-12-29 23:01:32 | Recommended?: No

Review: I have been an amex cardholder for 6 years now. I have 3 cards with them including this blue cash card. I logged on today to request a CLI (currently at 9K I requested 11. I have requested a CLI before on another card and received an auto CLI within 60 seconds. Today I got a "We will notify you with our decision in 7-10 days." When you get approved for a credit card they tell you right away its 2017 why can't they just e mail me a decision? So I called. I was transferred to the CLI team which the lady i spoke with the language barrier was unbearable. All she could say was "You were declined because you have requested a CLI within 90 days" Yes i did, today...once! So I hung up and called again. I explained my whole situation again only for the lady to tell me "You have over 22K in credit between all of your cards why do you want an increase? Lady.... I didn't become an 800 FICO overnight 800 FICO's don't NEED all of their available credit this is why we are 800 ficus because we request CLI's so out debt to income is low. I told her, prime credit customers are educated we didn't become 800 bacons overnight of COURSE I don't need the 11K credit line but I am entitled for this I have WORKED for it. She did not even let me finish before she transferred me to yet another CLI associate with yet another language barrier.All she told me was my CLI was declined because I don't make enough income (I make 97K a year) and that my payments are to low (I only owe about 400 so I make 50 dollars towards the balance because the minimum payment is only 35) I feel extremely de-vaulued as a customer. What do I do? I FEEL i should end my relationship with amex but I don't want to affect my credit score. I don't want to close 22K in credit and have that hit my bureaus. Any advise would be appreciated!




Title: Got It
Date Reviewed: 2017-07-30 22:55:24 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Had an Amex in 2007 but lost it due to financial difficulties. Applied recently and was approved with $1000 limit. It's a start, i'm happy to be back with AMEX




Title: Rewards Aren't Adding Up
Date Reviewed: 2017-09-05 15:28:59 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: The initial offer encouraged me to apply, but now I'm less than impressed. I primarily got it to use at grocery stores since it's the highest return, and figured with the slow add up of cash back it'd cover a trip or two a year. Nothing major, but a little something. The rewards weren't quite adding up. Come to find out, the local stores available in my area don't count so I've been earning the measly 1%.




Title: Good Credit Card
Date Reviewed: 2017-09-20 07:57:53 | Recommended?: No

Review: Good credit card with high limit for new customer ,suitable for business entrepreneurs who spend large amounts of money




Title: Finally Got An AMEX!
Date Reviewed: 2017-11-01 18:06:00 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Finally applied for and was approved for the Blue Cash Everyday card. My scores were in the 720's and I wasn't sure if I would get approved because of a little mishap that reported on my credit, but I was instantly approved for a credit limit of $2,000, with an APR of 16.99. I didn't think to call and ask for a higher credit limit until after I received the card. I actually applied for a CLI online and called customer service when it wasn't approved, but apparently you must have your card for at least 60 days before you can apply for a CLI. For now, I only plan on using it for groceries, so the credit limit suites me fine, but maybe later I can ask for more. I did receive 18 months no interest and $150 cash back if I spend $3,000 within 3 months, so that shouldn't be a problem. So far, customer service has been good. I called to have my due date changed, as I like to keep all my due dates around the same time which helps with my budgeting. I didn't see any rewards on my first statement though so I asked the rep when I was having my due date changed about earning rewards and she did confirm that rewards are earned in a one month delay, so I won't see how much I've earned on my first month until my second statement. American Express is also supposed to be rolling out a new program in which you have the option to pay for large purchases over a period of time, rather than paying interest, you pay a monthly fee which is much lower than your interest rate, and you agree to pay for large purchases over a period of time, but right now I think it's only available to those who had an existing card, and new card holders would have this option available starting 2018, so we'll see. The card itself is clear, by the way, not silver as I presumed which does make it seem cool but my guess is I am more likely to misplace it. Overall, I'm very happy with it so far!




Title: Got It!
Date Reviewed: 2017-12-06 20:33:20 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had this card as well as the AMEX Platinum over 10 years ago, however due to terrible circumstances I lost the card and my relationship with AMEX. After 10 years I was approved for this card, I'm so excited.




Title: Upgraded!!!
Date Reviewed: 2017-12-19 03:01:49 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Had this card over 10 years ago. I'm so glad to be back, the perks are unbelievable and worth the $450 annual fee. Its been a great year for me and AMEX.




Title: American Express Green Card
Date Reviewed: 2018-05-25 12:08:08 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had a Fico score of 629 when American Express pre-qualified me for 2 cards, one being their Premier Rewards Gold card and this Green card which I was approved for... I was in shock... I have a 9 year old Bankruptcy and 1 2-1/2 year old collections account and 7 charge offs from over 2 years 7 months ago when I got approved and 7 inquiries in last 12 months but total beyond 12 months was 16 which they did not count... The credit bureau they use is Experian... I was so surprised but I got approved as I had a $6,000 limit with Carecredit that helped I imagine get me approved as well. My father tried to get pre approved and his credit score is higher than mind (660) and higher but they declined him because I have 26 active credit accounts that makes my credit history Unique to say the least, most of them Comenity Bank credit accounts from shopping cart trick and also regular hard pulls (too many) . My dad only has 8 active accounts and a bankruptcy under 8 years old no baddies at all period that is why I was shocked I got this card. I thank American Express for taking a chance on me... I hope this review helps others consider applying for this green card as you can get it if your bankruptcy is over or almost 9 years old if you have one even with one collection account and charge offs long as they are older than 2 1/2 years and less than under 10 inquiries in past 12 months...




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch