Plains Commerce Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Plains Commerce Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Plains Commerce Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Total Visa Card
Date Reviewed: 2006-05-30 14:37:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This card was perfect for someone who is trying to rebuild his/her credit. For a credit card with a little bit of limit you could do wonders with it. I do enjoy using this card.




Title: Have Had It For A Year Now
Date Reviewed: 2006-07-08 23:08:48 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have had this card for over a year now, and I have gotten back all of my fees credited to my account. I am also up for reviews now for increases, this was my first card after bankruptcy and then messing up with credit card debt again. I am on the right track now, and think this is a good card to start with.




Title: Rip Offfffff Beware
Date Reviewed: 2006-08-06 04:14:58 | Recommended?: No

Review: Still no card have been waiting 3 weeks, call and each time same thing, no help no idea no nothing, they did tell me I can get a new card for a fee... Hello this card is not even active yet...




Title: 3 Yrs And No Problems
Date Reviewed: 2006-11-03 16:26:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Ive had this card for 3 yrs now. When I applied for it my credit score was around 515, it since has increased to 689 and in my opinion this card has helped. They report to the credit agencies, never lost my payment, never even had to call them. My credit has increased enough where I can get a regular card and don't need this one anymore but I keep it open to order things online. Ive had these types of cards before and learned that if you pay your bill ontime, and early enough you more then likely wont have problems. They do help.




Title: Weird Card
Date Reviewed: 2006-11-07 17:29:17 | Recommended?: No

Review: I had this card for two years without ever being late or delinquent and out of the blue one day last year they sent me a letter stating that they will no longer be continuing this credit card and will be closing my account. They even sent a refund and letter stating that I had great credit with them. I didn't think the card existed anymore but now I see they do. How weird!




Title: Total Visa
Date Reviewed: 2006-11-28 00:23:31 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I just recently got my card and trying to rebuild my credit... Customer Service is out standing. I would refer this card to any one who needs to rebuild there credit.




Title: Total / 660 All The Same I Believe
Date Reviewed: 2006-11-28 16:20:16 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have both of these cards, the Total and the 660. Both I think are the same, both payments are made to somewhere in Florida and when you call they answer " Card Services" Both list addresses in Sioux Falls SD where banking laws are lax and they can get away with jamming you with huge fees. Who manages these cards? Who knows? But as I said, both are most likely the same people.




Title: Limitations, But Does The Trick
Date Reviewed: 2007-02-28 20:35:43 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This is my first card since "walking" away from a credit nightmare (I created) 4 years ago... Pros: 1. Report to all three bureaus -- no goofy stuff (yet?) 2. Excellent interface to download transactions to Quicken; 3. Customer service was helpful and had good attitude/disposition; able to answer my questions when I phone in; 3. Timely "available credit" when sent via Western Union (although this costs $5.95 in my neck of the woods) -- it's cheaper than a late fee or ding to my credit though Cons: 1. Personal checks "held" for 14 days (nothing new given the other posts); same story for online payments; 2. "True" available credit can be different from "Reported" available credit online




Title: Denied
Date Reviewed: 2007-07-24 05:50:05 | Recommended?: No

Review: They also claimed that I already applied and must wait 90 days before reapplying. This is bullcrap!.




Title: Hope It Works Well
Date Reviewed: 2007-08-18 12:26:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was approved for card. And, received in mail 5 days later. Thanks, to site.




Title: Awesome Card Never Had Problems
Date Reviewed: 2007-08-31 15:42:13 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have had this card for about 6 months and never had a problem. I mean never. And for what I hear from others they credit back your money that you gave them to start. Now that's awesome. Do not I repeat do not go and get tribute MasterCard it is a fraud. They are totally opposite. It's like night and day. I love my total card. I pay on time plus before my date and sometimes I pay it of two are three times a month, and there is no fee to pay online. Never had any problems whatsoever. I recommend this card. To any one.




Title: Total Visa:4th Card
Date Reviewed: 2007-09-14 01:01:41 | Recommended?: No

Review: Just got the Total Visa credit card. It's my 4th credit card. Got it to improve my credit score. What's the online site to check your balance & other things?




Title: Rude And Harassing
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-16 06:50:23 | Recommended?: No

Review: I thought this was going to be a good card, but I was wrong. Had a few problems this past month and went over the credit limit. What do they do? Send me to their collections department after one month. Okay, fine. They called me and I set what I thought was a payment arrangement. Wrong! They called back 2 days later demanding that I either pay them now or pay them with a post dated check card payment. No way! Told them I get paid on Friday and I'd pay them then and that I do not post date anything. I was made to think that I was a bad, despicable person for going over my credit limit and that the fact that I was out sick for 2 weeks and missed work, or that I was only working part time instead of full time didn't matter. They kept insisting that I had to pay them their way or else they would keep calling me. Told them that was harassment if they called every day and was told it wasn't. Told them the only option they had was to accept the payment arrangement I could do or I'd cut the card up. They still refused. So, I'm sending them a cease and desist letter. They'll be lucky to get $1 a month from me for the next 385 days. DO NOT go with this scam artist. If you want a good bad credit credit card go with First Premier.




Title: All A Matter Of Perspective
Date Reviewed: 2008-01-03 10:26:51 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: No negative experiences here. Approved Nov '07 w/FICO of 520-ish. Paid card off every month... Got my monthly fees REFUNDED in December! Phone agents informative and polite. No issues at all. It's always important to keep a healthy perspective on things. I read a lot of reviews where people say "Rude", "Harassing", "High Fees" etc. THIS IS A CREDIT BUILDER CARD PEOPLE!! That means its expensive. It also means you need to pay on time, every time. Pay it off if you can. Keep your balances low so you don't get whacked by interest. And most important - pay with at least enough time to avoid those last-minute frustrations that make creditors seem so "Rude" or "Harassing" (That means if it's due on the 25th pay it by the 15th). My new life rule that has my FICO climbing (now at 600+)... Live within your means! In general, if I can't pay for it, I don't buy it. This keeps creditors, my bank account and me happier. And no harassing calls!




Title: They Want Identity Proof....
Date Reviewed: 2008-01-03 14:08:48 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I did apply for this card which I am sure I wont get being my credit score is only 497. But rewards 660 didn't require much of a score so I thought I would give it a shot. Well, when I applied I didn't get denied or approved! They want me to mail in more info as if I was lying about who I was. Has anyone else ever gone through this. If so please help. I didn't see any other cards that were unsecured that I could apply for with a FICO score of 497. And if anyone knows of one that would be nice info too. BTW is it me or is it a sudden addiction when you apply for one and then feel the need to keep applying till someone approves you??




Title: Good Credit Building Card
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-03 04:42:51 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Okay I had a First Premier card with about 6 months or less of positive credit history and nothing else. Other than that my credit was 100% blank. They have excellant customer service, very nice people. The APR will never change under any circumstances and I can ask for a new credit limit increase every 90 days in $25 increments. Free online payment options but can only be done 1 time per month. Free online account management 24-7 availability. 5/5 customer service. Reports to all three credit bureaus every 30 days.




Title: Tiny Credit Limit Increase
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-17 23:54:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I called the other day for a credit limit increase & when the lady told me I was eligible for a $25 increase I about fell on the floor! I said.."is that it??" She said yes so I accepted it. Better than nothing but still though... That's not really an increase but a gentle nudge... Lol. Didn't get charged for a credit limit increase fee.




Title: Legacy Visa?
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-18 11:47:24 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I just got a pre-approval for a 'Legacy Visa' in the mail. This card isn't listed in the database, so I used the Access Visa card (I have a suspicion that it might be from the same bank). Apparently it's offered by 'First National Credit Card,' and I believe there is a $50 annual fee. It boasts initial limits between $250 and $1500 (I'm betting 99% are $250!) Looking at their website 'http://www.Firstnationalcc.com/', it doesn't look like you can apply without getting an invitation. It looks like an 'o. K.' card. It has an annual fee, but no huge set-up fee. I'm going to pass, but has anyone heard anything about this card/company?




Title: Don't Bother
Date Reviewed: 2008-05-12 12:43:22 | Recommended?: No

Review: I've had this car for 6 months. Called them on my 6 month anniversary. They gave me a $25 CLI. What a joke. The customer service people are nice. The lady told me "Wow it looks like you've had an excellent payment history"... Blah blah blah...$25 increase. At this rate it will be 2023 before I get up to $1,000. This is such a waste of space in my wallet. I think I'm going to cancel Access and Continental Finance this week. I've had them for 6 months, but the longer I keep them the more it will affect me score. It's like being in a bad relationship... Over time you see how much time you have invested in it and don't want to give it up... Lol It's a self-perpetuating cycle.




Title: Lets See
Date Reviewed: 2009-01-09 00:03:31 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have about 10 negative accounts and owe around 23k in debt 90% of them are over 2 years old I am just trying to rebuild my credit I have this card and continental credit I just got approved for orchard as well so we will see how it works out no complaints yet. Does anyone know how long it takes to move 100 points if you are making payments on time and keeping balances low? EQ 502, EF 495




Title: Quarterly Limit Increases
Date Reviewed: 2009-03-02 08:35:18 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Instant On-Line approval when I applied. Initially low credit limit, However they offer frequent limit increases-with consistent timely payment. Here's the catch -- YOU must initiate the limit increase by phone request every quarter, then the max is $100.00 per year, again with excellent history, No complaints with this card or the issuer.




Title: Great Opportunity
Date Reviewed: 2009-03-03 06:04:41 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This card is perfect for those seeking to establish or rebuild their credit. One of the main advantages is that you can pay your bill using a debit card. The only bad thing is that you can't use the card outside the United States. So if you are traveling to an US Territory (like Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Guam, or to a foreign country), you won't be able to use the card. The interest rates are quite high, but the card does help you to rebuild your credit. Therefore, if you have little or no credit, and you will not be traveling outside the United States, this card is perfect for you.




Title: Can You Say Harrassers?
Date Reviewed: 2009-09-28 17:51:05 | Recommended?: No

Review: I have had this card for over a year. Never been late on a payment, never missed a payment, and until recently, never gone over limit. I went over limit when they tacked on this years annual fee. Bill is due on 28th of the month, and the phone calls started on the 8th. They called at least 3-4 times a day, including weekends, and despite my attempt to call them back and ask why I was being bothered before the bill was simply due, all they could say was " we aren't going to stop calling until you pay us". That was on the 20th, 8 days before any payment was due. Who in the heck harasses you about a bill before it's even due about not paying it? I'm paying this bad boy off and letting it sit in my wallet unused. Harrassing jerks.




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch