Applied Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Applied Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Applied Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Interested In This Card
Date Reviewed: 2008-02-23 22:44:55 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I understand that this used to be known as Cross Country. I'd like to apply for this card but I'd like to know if anybody has this card & is it worth having? I know about all the start-up fees. What else should I be concerned with IF I apply for this card?




Title: Not Bad For Sub Prime
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-03 23:58:17 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I’ve had this card since May of 2007, I haven’t had any problems so far. My initial limit was $500.00 and although the 100.00 cli fee is steep, I've went form 750 to 950 in two months! The monthly fee is annoying but I unlike first premier who I have had for over a year with no cli’s! It seems that applied is working to keep the customer.




Title: APPLIED BANK IS AWESOME
Date Reviewed: 2008-04-12 12:05:26 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This was one of my first cards when building credit. I've had nothing but a positive experience with them. Regular increases of my credit line, accurate and timely posting of my payments and excellent customer service. I only wish they would consider reviewing long-time accounts and offering better rates for good customers. Several calls made to them for a rate decrease proved unsuccessful. Unfortuantely, cannot ever close this account as it would clearly hurt my credit score because of the age of the account.




Title: Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2008-04-14 20:59:40 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for an Applied Bank credit card earlier this year, and was declined. Approximately 1 month later, I was sent this offer for a secured Visa, and I accepted. I did not have to send any money in for fees or anything, just the secured deposit of my choice! I sent in the minimum $200, just to make sure I could make the monthly payments, as this is a card to repair serverely damaged credit scores! I received this card in such a timely manner, I believe it only took a week after they received my money order for the deposit! (money orders allow processing to go faster, I think!) I love this credit card! The online system is awesome! It is so easy to register the card, and sign in each day to view balance, credit line, min. Due., and transactions! I would highly, highly recommend this card to anyone looking to re-build damaged credit, or those new to credit! Thanks Applied Bank! P. S. Experian score currently a 484. I am not sure what scores they pulled, as I don't know my Equifax or TransUnion scores at all.




Title: BE CAREFUL
Date Reviewed: 2008-06-16 18:13:09 | Recommended?: No

Review: I have this card. I have the Platinum Visa. CL: $1650. They are generous with credit limit increases which can help your FICO but beware of many hidden fees with this card. I've been hit with the following.. 1) AF: $72 per yr 2) Monthly fee just for having the card: $10 3) If you make a payment online: $6.95 Other than that online management is excellent. 4) Just read on my statement today if you use the automated system for any inquiry:.50 cents. Can you believe that shiz! 5) APR: 23.99%. If you make one payment past the due date default is 29.99%. It will be brought back down to 23.99% after several months of being on time. 6) Credit Limit increases: $100 per acceptance!! Good card to start but waiting one day for a card with about $2000 limit to balance transfer this card and cut it up!!!




Title: Too Many Fees For Line Of Credit
Date Reviewed: 2008-11-01 11:03:25 | Recommended?: No

Review: The up front fees are ridiculous (about $175 for a $500 line of credit). They charge $11 per month for "account maintenance." If you are late on one payment, the interest rate goes up from 9.9% to the maximum allowed by law. All changes and any disputes as to fees have to be made in writing via postal mail. A credit increase costs $100 per $250 of credit. Don't get this card unless you are certain that you can make every payment well in advance. Doing so online costs $6.95, so you will want to use your bank's Bill Pay feature. In any case, be sure payment arrives at least three busiiness days in advance of due date. This company is fast to add late/over-limit fees.




Title: Only For The Desperate
Date Reviewed: 2009-01-31 22:08:27 | Recommended?: No

Review: If you are desperate to rebuild your credit, Applied will help. I was able to obtain an Applied credit card with very poor credit. At that time, I did have one other card to help rebuild. To this day, I still have both... However, since I have been able to obtain credit from other more reptuble companies, I will be closing my applied. I prefer to make payments on line, however applied always adds on a processing charge as well as check by phone in addition to the monthly maintenance fees. I only imagine that paying check by mail also incurs a fee for opening the envelope! My other poor credit card (Embrace) has treated me much more fairly and I do plan on retaining this card.




Title: Not Too Bad So Far...
Date Reviewed: 2009-05-30 01:10:49 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I am trying to rebulid my credit so I decided to open a CD secured loan with my bank and to find a secured credit card. After being turned down for the B of A Secured card, I tried Applied Bank. I had already applied for and received my Applied Bank Secured Visa before stubling upon this site. Many of the reviews I've read have been seem to be for their unsecured lines, but I did the secured card. I opened the card with $1050 (but treat it as if it has a $1000 limit). I refuse to give them $6.95 to make a payment via their on-line system, but they happen to be an electronic payee with my bank's on-line banking so when I pay through my bank the payments have been posting with in 1 business day... No fee... The only fee I've incurred so far was the $50 annual fee, the secured card doesn't have a monthly maintenence fee. So far, the only thing I don't like about the card is its lack of a grace period, but with me being able to get payments posted so quickly that hasn't been much of a problem. They also say in there terms they report to major credit bureaus but in the five months I've had them they've only reported to Transunion. I'd greatly appreciate any tips you guys can provide in rebuilding credit. I have been fortunate enough to triple my salary so while I am paying off charge offs and collections I am trying to generate positive payment history.




Title: Rip OFF!!
Date Reviewed: 2009-07-06 14:27:04 | Recommended?: No

Review: I closed this card after only a couple of months because I did not like paying a fee to make a payment on-line. I make most of my payments for other bills on-line with out being charged. I closed the account with a zero balance and it has been two months and they still have not returned my money!!! When I call, customer service is clueless. This was not worth the hassle and I don't know if I will ever see my money again.




Title: Oh Dear....
Date Reviewed: 2009-08-08 19:04:26 | Recommended?: No

Review: Boy, how I wish I had known about this forum when I helped my son research credit cards to help him rebuild his very poor credit. Bottom line is that he got a $200 line of credit with Applied, with intentions of increasing the line rather substantially. Hasn't used the card yet; brand new. I got nervous as he has never been able to get a real life Customer Service Rep on the phone (numerous tries), so I told him to hold off using the card. Now I'm wondering if he would be better off canceling this card. He's going to have a tough time getting a card anywhere at this point, but a potentially bad card as this one seems to be, might cause even more harm for him. If anybody has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated. Two of his scores are 536/534. Three accounts listed as paid off after charge-off. Four accounts in collection (he's slowly paying off these, too) with balances due of 379/405/292/86. Total debt of $1162. No positive credit history established yet as he has never had a credit card, car loan, etc




Title: Appled Bank Review
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-07 14:27:57 | Recommended?: No

Review: Fee dor deposit any money - 7$--each time you want to pay your balance. This is unbelievible. Customer service never answers to you. I closed my account and waiting 3 month to receive my deposit back. Never apply for this card.




Title: Great Card!!!
Date Reviewed: 2010-02-10 03:22:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I can not say nothing but good things about this card. I have had it a few months now, and have had no problems. I love that it has no monthly fees. There is an annual fee of $50, that is all. It has an APR of 9.99% which I absoulute love! The best thing I like is how easy it is to increase my credit line. I use moneygram at Wal-Mart, and I get the increase the next day. There have not been any holds on my payments so far. You can manage your account on line. There is a charge to pay online however...$6.95. They report to 2 bureaus, TransUnion and Experian, it does NOT report as a secured card at all. They only thing that is not good is there is NO grace period on the account, but the APR is so low... Each statement it has only been like a dollar or two... So I can live with it. Customer service has been nice also the few times I have called. I like the fact that it is a local number to call. I live in Pennsylvania, and their customer service is a 484 area code... Perfect for me!! You can build your credit line up to $5000 if you want to... I am going to stop at $2000, almost there... I want to see if in time they will increase the credit line without an additional deposit, as it states in my cardholder agreement, but it does say there may a fee for this... So we will see... One more GREAT thing, it was guarenteed approval, There was NO credit check or an inquiry placed on my file. PERFECT!!! I was skeptical with going with them because I have seen some negative reviews about them, but experience has been VERY GOOD. So good in fact, I also opened a MasterCard with them... The exact same terms, no problems with that one either. I have read they don't offer these cards anymore... What a shame, but I sure LOVe mine!! I definitely recommend them to anyone looking to rebuild. Thank you.




Title: Applied But Waiting
Date Reviewed: 2010-12-12 04:02:46 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Really trying to rebuild credit. I filed for bankruptcy in 05 but got caught in 07 falling back with bills due to a seperation with my husband. Found out last year that a person in Michigan was taking school loans out in my name and have been monitoring and trying to rebuild credit. Will be expecting our third child in June and am really trying to buy a home since my husband and I are in a better financial place. I know that it's going to take a while to do this because I don't want to be taken advantage of since my credit score is low. I applied for this card with credit scores of 582 TU, 593 EQ, 544 EX. They are waiting for me to fax over my paystubs. Hopefully I will get approved. I already opened up a capital one secured credit card with CL of $200. Wanted to stay low... I'm just awaiting the news. Will keep everyone up to date with status!




Title: Got This Card
Date Reviewed: 2011-01-06 16:19:57 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied for this card, they made a slight deposit of 7 cents into the checking account to verify I had a checking account. It took 2 business days and I was approved. I used the rapid method and once approved had the card in 2 days. The fee was huge ($170), I paid that off now don't have a balance. Limit is $500. Gotta go this route for now




Title: Applied Bank Unsecured Gold Visa
Date Reviewed: 2011-02-02 08:19:46 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hello my name is Vinney and I would like to inform the readership on this comment board that on the 28th of January, 2011, I had initialy applied for a Applied Bank unsecured Gold Visa credit card by going online and filling out and completing an application with respect to the card and then the auto-attendent system instructed that I would have have to submit proof-of-income, paystubs, etc. To them via-mail or by fax-(In this case I utilized the fax-method.) The auto-attendent system also notified me that Applied Bank would apply a small credit in the amount of less then $1.00 into my bank-checking account for verification purposes. However, it has been several days and no such credit has of yet been applied. I subsequently called customer service and informed them that I had not as of yet retained such credit and they said that give it a few days time. Also, I enquired about the current status of my sumitted application and he (the customer service agent) said that it looked quite good and that my income aspect had passed approval- All-in-all, so far that with respect to the status of my submitted application I am still awaiting the credit to my checking account. I might also inform you that according to the customer service agent that until I secured such a credit (less-then a $1.00) the processing of my application would be delayed. Quite interesting- Hopefully, as soon as I secure results on this matter I will then proceed to convey to you the readership on this comment board the results-so hang-tight till I get back to you all. Vinney in California-02/03/11 PS: To be blunt with you, I do currently sustain a negative credit report/file (s) (circumstances beyond my control contributed to such a predicament) by the way who has not been spared? But I am hopeful that I will or would be able rather to reastablish a postive crediting rating with respect to my credit report (s).




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch