Credit One Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Credit One Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit One Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: OK For Rebuilding Credit
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-04 16:22:46 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This card isn't too bad.  Initially got $500 limit, received an increase in about a year.  Never any problems. Yes, read the fine print re:  annual fee, but $6 isn't too bad compared to some of the other cards out there.  It is disappointing they charge to pay your bill online, but my bank offers free bill pay, so I just schedule the payment for this card thru the bill pay and it works great!




Title: Ok
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-04 19:06:17 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: A decent card for re-building. I didn't care for the $5.95 per month fee, but there were no account opening fees, application fees, etc. Like many sub-prime cards. The only problem is that I tried to transfer the balance on this card in January and they refused. Customer service is attentive and polite and not sent to an offshore call center. Requesting a CLI will cost you $25, so best to wait for an auto CLI. They will hold your first payment against available funds for 10 days so be aware of that.




Title: It's Ok A Lil...
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-05 02:55:15 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: This card is ok for only trying to rebuild. I just now closed my acct last wk and paid it off because when I called in twice to asked for increase they wouldnt give it to me. But when I called in this week to close acct they want to give me increase amount of $100.00 so I would have had $300.00 limit with them. I don't need cards like them. This month will be 2yrs ago I filed chapter 7. I have orchard $400.00, applied bank $700.00, capital one $1000.00, hooters 2k, and a few more and I almost forgot capital one approve me for auto loan up to 41k. So all those starters card you really don't need them anymore. Just my opinion!




Title: Incorrect Info
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-10 01:18:58 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hello. I am very happy with this card. It reports to all 3 bureaus. It is very consistent with increases. My limit is OVER $1000, I read on here that someone said they do not give limits over $1000, that is wrong, I am living proof. I did call about that, just to find out, and was told that is only for new accounts, not for existing accounts. They even waived my monthly fee for 3 months because I was told I was a great customer. I don't like the $5.95 fee to pay your bill on line... Oh well. Next day avilability of payments, never a problem. Debit card payments post next day, checking account payments take 2 days to post. I am considering applying for their MasterCard as well because my experience has been so good. Thank you.




Title: Awesome Card
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-11 00:12:47 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I like this card from credit one. Original cl was 45K cause I have a FICO of 800. Much better than my centurion AMEX. You should go for it craig!




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-15 16:18:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied was told "denied" twice went to the web site and put in the information and it said approved. Don't know limit yet. How long does it take to get the card?




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2007-12-08 13:45:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Is this a good card for rebuilding credit? A website had some negative reviews?? Please help-Thanks




Title: GREAT Card
Date Reviewed: 2007-12-23 02:45:00 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Quick approval and after a few months a credit line increase to $1000




Title: Terrible
Date Reviewed: 2007-12-29 21:22:37 | Recommended?: No

Review: I sure was given the runaround... Told I was approved-then the next representative said I was declined. Then the next rep. Said I needed to fax in Drivers license which-I did. Then I called and 2 weeks later they never received anyhting. Then I was told "I did it all wrong... I had to reapply and I should mail in the Drivers license copy"... Then I called and asked for a manager-was hung up on twice after I said hello... Very Dissapointed




Title: Approve But Not Approved????
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-19 23:55:07 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card today... But when I came to the final page where it told me congrats(Limit was only 200) It said pending verification has any one else experienced this whit this credit card?




Title: How To Get Your Fees Back!!!
Date Reviewed: 2008-06-12 20:23:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Although this card has a high fee. I think it is pretty good if you have a low score and want to rebuild. My mom's score was in the 400's and I have been helping her based on info I got from working at CitiCards and this website. I had her call after being with them for 4 months to say. I have been getting offers from capital one with no fee. And I would like to see if you can review my account to waive this fee. On her next bill statment their was a credit for the fee. If you pay it off in full each month you don't pay charges and the customer service reps seem like they want to appease their cardmembers. As long as your account has never bee nlate or over the limit they seem to want to try to help out. The only bad thing I noticed was one month they held her payment and then charged a late fee. Kinda sneaky. Just watch your statement if you get this card. And do not be afraid to ask if it possible to waive that fee once yuor account has been opened and you show some activity.




Title: Too Many Fees
Date Reviewed: 2008-06-30 23:19:59 | Recommended?: No

Review: This card has too many fees,$7.95 to pay online,$5.75 monthly fee, now even if you do not use your card for a month of two they will still add purchase fees to your account, so if you only pay your minimum payment, these fees put you over your limit then they charge you for that, only card I have ever seen that you have absolutely not even $1.00 left after fees.




Title: Way Too Many Fees...
Date Reviewed: 2009-02-23 20:54:12 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Have had this card since November 07, started with a CL of 350.00. Paid off balance every other month. They charged each time I made a payment online. They also charged for calling them over the phone. If I were starting out or fixing your credit, I would look some where else. Right now I paid the account off, sadly still with 10.00 balance.




Title: Approved - CL = $850
Date Reviewed: 2009-05-16 21:11:22 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got a preapproval in the mail last week and told myself I didn't need it. It has a $60 AF and it says that minimum limit is $200, which according to my experience, is typically what you get. I was surprised to be instantly approved for $850. It does include a free monthly credit score reporting service, which somewhat justifies the annual fee, which is broken down and charged monthly. My scores are about 640 right now because I charged up my cards this month lol. I'm probably at about 70% uitilization. I'm hoping that in a few months when I get them down to 5% I can get my scores up closer to 700.




Title: Bank Card Empire
Date Reviewed: 2009-07-11 04:48:13 | Recommended?: No

Review: One good think that I like about the company is that they keep on informing you about there new plans and offers. As well as when you have invested in this company they also keep you updated timely.




Title: Instant Approval
Date Reviewed: 2009-11-14 15:09:36 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hey everyone I know most of us are not keen on fees However this card isn't that bad considering the way things are going on in Bankcard Land..69:00 Annual Fee and Non Refundable 69:00 Set Up Fee... But heck they gave me a 1000.00 Dollar Limit... Ill take it Oh by the way don't use their Online bill pay they charge you...7:95 Use your own Online banking to pay them.




Title: Good For Rebuilders
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-21 23:00:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Got instant approval for 300 limit. Fees are not bad compared to first premier. Discharged from b/k and got approved so its better than nothing.




Title: I've Had Worse...not A Bad Initial Credit Limit!
Date Reviewed: 2010-12-15 22:46:12 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received a preapproval notice in the mail in July 2010. Decided to apply, because at the time I was with First Premier Bank and thought the fees were crazy and they wouldn't give me a cli. My credit score at the time was hovering around the 600 mark. Much to my suprise, I was approved and given a credit limit of $1,000. The first years annual fee was $75. Each year after, I believe the af is $58 or so. Or course the interest rate is high, over 20%, but I'm trying to not carry a balance on it, so I'm not too concerned about that. I'm going to wait a=while longer before I ask for a cli, maybe after 12 months of good history. I would definitely recommend this card to anyone who is trying to rebuild their credit. I got tired of credit cards with 200 or 300 dollar credit limits... So I said GOODBYE and GOOD RIDDANCE to 1st Premier Bank!




Title: HAS HELPED REBUILD MY CREDIT
Date Reviewed: 2012-03-24 21:51:38 | Recommended?: No

Review: This card is expensive and for that reason I will not go so far as to recommend this card to anyone but it has helped with rebuilding my credit. I responded to a mail offer last September and excepted the terms. CL was initially $300.00 with 23.9% interest rate. 2 months later Cl increased to $400.00. One thing I really am unhappy about is when you make a payment, it takes 5-7 days to be reflected in your available balance unless you choose the express payment option which I believe will run you an additional $10.00. I'm not sure because I never choose that option.




Title: Rebuilder Card
Date Reviewed: 2012-05-02 17:59:18 | Recommended?: No

Review: I was in the process of rebuilding my credit after filing bankrupt and being discharged in 2008. I received a pre-approved offer in the mail for this card in January of 2010. I applied and was approved with a cl of $250. After 6 months of paying the balance either off in full or down to below 20%, I was declined for a cli. My credit was not all the best at the time so I left it alone only to be denied again about another 6 months later. I applied for a Capital One card and was approved with a $500 cl. The following month, Credit One decided all of a sudden to give me a cli from $250 to $450. The customer service is terrible and I've threatened to close the card a couple of times but it is one of the oldest that I have had since rebuilding my credit. I actually just received another cli of $100 but for a fee of $24.95 but I don't charge anything on the card anyhoo. I just keep paying my bill every month and will be closing it once I get the balance paid off. Why keep the card if I now have 2 Capital One cards and a Sears Mastercard (all of which have no montly fees)? My score has improved drastically though from paying my bills on time & a large chunk if I can so it served its purpose.




Title: Good Starter Or Restarter
Date Reviewed: 2013-06-08 04:21:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Approves just about anyone with a pulse. A lot of fees and payments take 1 week to post. You can always do a rush payment for the sum of 10 bucks. Use it for what it is, a building tool. EQ:658 TU:696 EX:???




Title: Already A Credit Increase
Date Reviewed: 2015-02-10 02:28:45 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got this card in November. Just got word today they gave me a CLI. We are rebuilding so we can get a home. Pretty easy application too.




Title: I Got This Card Too!
Date Reviewed: 2015-11-24 09:07:57 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received offer in mail right after I was approved from Capital One Platinum Credit Card with credit limit of $300 unsecured and I had credit score 560. I was approved for Visa credit card from Credit One Bank with a limit of $400. Awesome to get a chance with both companies. I always thought I would never get a actual unsecured credit card, but I did and it feels great. 2 months later my credit score is 612.




Title: Rebuilding
Date Reviewed: 2017-02-11 20:24:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Just got this card after getting a pre-approval in the mail. Has a starting credit limit of $400. PLUS they offer cash back on purchases. People will point out that this card, like many like it, has fees. I'm willing to eat the fees in order to better my credit picture. I have other cards that i rotate on a regular basis. This will go in my rotation cycle.




Title: A Good Limit For A Beginner
Date Reviewed: 2017-03-09 16:01:24 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I helped my daughter acquire this card, and we are both pleased with the decision. Her credit limit is $300 and, in my opinion, that is good amount for a young adult to learn to maintain when they have never done this before. Customer service is good and the card arrived in a timely manners. No complaints.




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch