Merrick Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by Merrick Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by Merrick Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Approved After Bk7
Date Reviewed: 2009-09-21 20:25:12 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied 9/12/09 received card today. Got 7-10 day message. $2000 credit line. Not sure about annual fee or interest rate. Pulled TU 631. Bk7 discharge 8/2009. Had perfect credit until husbands business went bad. Started applying after discharge mid aug. Received orchard platinum $500 cl instantly. Indigo card $300 cl, took about a week. Both have annual fee. After reading reviews and application status got the courage to try for Hooters. Was just hoping for approval considering bk7. So excited for $2000 cl. Huge safety net after starting over with nothing. Plan on small usage and paying off and total rebuilding. No more apps. Now for quite a while. THERE IS HOPE AFTER BK!!




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-21 23:06:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I submitted app and got the seven to ten day response. A week went by and I called and was approved for $300 no annual fee with interest rate at 16%. Not bad for not even being discharged from chapter 7 a year.




Title: Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2010-01-12 18:53:07 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Approved for a $1000 limit with an ExP 655 EQ 626 TU 628. I have a two Capital One cards with a total of $2000 CL, a Household Card for $500, a Best Buy Charge account for $600, Credit One for $450 (which I plan to close), Kay & Jared Cards each $1500, a Care Credit Charge Card for $4800. I claimed Chapter 7 back in 2006, nothing bad since then, except for a tax lein from a previous business I am trying to pay off. I have been rebuilding. I also got approved for a walmart card $500 limit and another Household Card for a $750 limit which I haven't received yet. I do have a current auto payment for a year, but never had a mortgage. I have quite a few (8) inquiries in the last month, and I have since quit applying for anything. The Kay, Jared, and Carecredit were all in the last 3 weeks. Hooters I felt was very generous with their credit Line. I got the 7-10 day message and assumed I was denied. Call customer service a week later and they said I was approved. They wouldn't give me the CL over the phone. Got my card in the mail today (1-12-10) Applied on 1-1-10.




Title: Finally Approved
Date Reviewed: 2010-01-20 17:03:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had applied for this card three times in the last year and were denied each time. I applied 4 or 5 days ago, and was certain that I was denied again. But today as soon as I walked in the door from work, I got a call from merrick bank in salt lake city. Verified my adress and asked me what other accounts I had open to verify, and he said I got it approved and your card will be being mailed in a couple days. No idea what my limit or interest rate is till I get the card, I will ad a comment when I kno. I am so happy to be approved. My transunion score is around 600, and that's what they pulled. A few baddies, lots of inquiries and several other open accounts.




Title: ??
Date Reviewed: 2010-02-13 07:39:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Tried applying several times and keep getting an error page? 717 equifax, 717 experian, 726 transunion.




Title: Approved After Bk7
Date Reviewed: 2010-04-18 20:28:09 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was looking for another card and came across this website. Feeling encouraged, I applied 4/11/10 and was instantly approved. I called a few days later and found out my cl was $500. My eq and tu scores were 636. I got a car loan right after bk7 which I believe have helped my scores. My bk7 was discharged 8/2009, had a lot of inquiries though and am going to take a break. I have 3 other cards with highest limit being 500. I know I have to be patient but it is tough. Thanks to everyone who has written a review, You've helped me.




Title: Great Card
Date Reviewed: 2010-04-24 20:13:43 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have this since 9/2007 with a limit of 3550 apr. At the time18% no annual fee do not know my credit score at that time also have a bankruptcy too that I filed 9/2000 my credit score now is 713




Title: Approved After 3 Weeks Of Waiting
Date Reviewed: 2010-04-24 21:15:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: After waiting 3 weeks of a pending application. They contacted me to verify information. Originally when I applied online, application said under review please wait 7-10 days. I call toll free number a week later and customer rep said application was still pending. Waiting on credit limit. Reestablishing credit after Chapter 13. Have HSBC, Best Buy, and Wal Mart credit cards. EQU 614, Exp, 674, and TU 636




Title: Denied
Date Reviewed: 2010-04-28 16:39:53 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied online was denied. Not sure of the reason. My scores and income were higher then some of the others that were approved... Oh well.




Title: 7-10 Day Pending Review
Date Reviewed: 2010-05-21 19:14:29 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied for this card 05/14/10 and I called today 6 days after just to check to see how the review was and I was told to call back next tuesday 05/24. I guess they need the full 10 days or something. The CSR told me that they have had a lot of applications so that's what is taking so long. My credit scores at the time of applying were TU 687 and EQ 674 Only 10% Utilazation on all my credit cards combined and only 1 inquiry on each credit bureau in the last 12 months. I really hope I get approved for this card!! I will update next week when I call back and find out the answer.




Title: Applied
Date Reviewed: 2010-06-26 15:50:44 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied and have my fingers crossed. Got the 7-10 day message. They pulled TU and I was 562 at the time. I hope I get this :)




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2010-07-22 19:24:15 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied online last month and the decision was that the application was still pending. One week later, I got a call from Merrick Bank to verify some information on the application and the credit report. When the information was verified, the customer center representative told me that the credit card was approved. The credit line was $1000 and an APR of 16.45 % and $0.00 annual fee. I got the credit card in one week. I like its design.




Title: Denied Due To Duplicate App
Date Reviewed: 2010-09-30 00:17:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had applied for this card while I was out on a spree of applying due to me finally seeing my scores go up. Any ways last week I had received an invitation for a Merrick Bank Visa credit card pre approval with no annual fee guaranteed $750 and it even stated if I paid on time within a few months my CLI would automatically increase to 1520. Any ways I went ahead and applied and sure enough I was approved. So since I was on an applying spree I applied for the Hooters card and I received the typical message of processing, and after calling today I was told I could only have one HSBC card and therefore this application was going to be disregarded. Does any one have any experience with Merrick Bank only giving you one card at a time or one in general?




Title: YES!!!!!! C YA O BANK
Date Reviewed: 2010-11-01 22:44:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I can't believe it-approved with $300 CL. I got the 7-10 day message on-line. Called a week later and said it was "still under review". I felt certain was a "no" but it was in the mailbox today. No one would approve me-BK in 08. TU 542 EQ 550 EX 570. I am so happy because I can tell O Bank to return my security deposit and kiss it. Thanks Hooters for giving me a chance.




Title: 20 DAYS
Date Reviewed: 2010-11-03 21:27:50 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Rockin35 and Meya, watch out... Theres a new HOOT in town... I applied on October 13 2010, I got the typical 7 to 10 day message. So I call back a week later and still my application is pending.. Finally on Oct 26, merrick bank calls me (they have an 801 number.) they verified my application and was approved. So then I asked the creditor what my limit would be. She said 2800. 2800!! Yess... So I call back almost a week later, November 1. Lady tells me that they have finished processing my card and that it has just been mailed to me. So I ask her the 64000 dollar question. What is my annual fee. She replies. No annual fee. Yess!!! And I ask her what is my apr. Replied 16.45%. Yesssss!!! I asked her that is the lowest they offer, and she says that is true. Well I checked my mail a day later, and whatdoyouknow... HOOTERS!!! So the entire process from application to activation took 20 days.. I have read all of the reviews and looked over all of the statuses. I am filled with pride at this moment because I have the lowest apr, the highest limit, and no apr since the credit crunch of 2008... Rockin35, meya, hope to hear your comments...




Title: Approved With BK
Date Reviewed: 2010-12-23 19:48:45 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was recently approved for 300.00. Low limit but it's a start. I was discharged from chapter 7 in June 2010 applied in October and was approved. It took about 5 weeks from applying to receiving the card. I am glad somone gave me fresh start.




Title: Received An Increase
Date Reviewed: 2011-01-05 23:46:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I opened the card in 2009 with credit scores in the 640 range. Today 1/06/2011 I went online to pay my bill and noticed that they have increased my credit limit from 600 to 900. This is the second card in 2 months that has raised my limit without a request. My scores are in the low 700 range.




Title: Shot Down Like Game Bird!!!
Date Reviewed: 2011-01-08 03:32:51 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I was denied instantaneously... BUT whatever... I guess I will have to go with some of these ridiculous subprime banks to get my credit back up... I don't know what my FICO score is, but my ConsumerInfo scores show Ex 563, Trans 563 and Eq has a blank... Forget Hooters, and TU as well; they can sleep with the fishes...;) LOL




Title: Denied Online...
Date Reviewed: 2011-04-04 17:02:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Apped for hooters, denied online... Pulled TU, which is 656 Fico...4 inquiries, no baddies. Go figure, lol.




Title: No Annual Fee
Date Reviewed: 2011-05-22 15:18:05 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Two weeks exactly from the time i applied to the time i recieved it. Had to call after one week to verify info. No annual fee,16.24% interest.Not a big c.l . $700.00.My experian plus score at the time was 702. I don not what my fico score is.




Title: Information
Date Reviewed: 2011-09-30 15:20:58 | Recommended?: No

Review: Called they were not taking applications at this time for hooters master-card




Title: AS OF 3/24/2012 CARD DOESNT ACCEPT NEW CUSTOMERS
Date Reviewed: 2012-03-24 21:48:13 | Recommended?: No

Review: They no longer accept new applicants. Nor are they planning to in the near future! The number is for what is left of existing clients.




Title: Approved For Merrick Bank !!!!!!!!
Date Reviewed: 2012-08-14 08:42:30 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hi FG, This review is not for the Hooters card but for a new card that Merrick bank has Its call Double Your Line Visa. They approve you for a certin amount and double it after 7 months of good payment history. This is my offer they gave me: On 08-06-12 I received a preapproval letter and they said I was preapproved for $1100. After 7 months of good payment history it will be doubled to $2200. 0 AF and 21.45% APR. I applied online and they said 7-10 days for awnser. I didnt call them and thought it was going to be a denial letter. Got my mail yesterday and what you know I was approved for the card. I hope they give out good increases after the 7 month increase. CL: $1100 Doubled in 7 months ($2200) AF: 0 APR: 21.45% ( Bill will be paid every month in full) Scores: Last time I checked 620-640.




Title: Approved For Dl Visa
Date Reviewed: 2012-11-26 15:14:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Recieved an invitation in the mail on 11-17-12 for $600.00 and would double in 7 months if payments are made on time. Replied online instant approval. Received card today. $24 dollar ann fee.




Title: Preapprove For Merrick Bank Visa Double Your Credit Line
Date Reviewed: 2014-02-16 16:07:57 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I recived a preapproved offer from merrick bank visa with a credit line off $1750.00 the credit will doule too $3500.00 after 7 on time payments.no anual fee,apr.19.99 they pull transunion credit score 683 and it is by invitation only




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch