U.S. Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by U.S. Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by U.S. Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2009-11-07 05:51:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received a pre-approval offer in the mail a couple weeks back and decided to go for it. I have been wanting to replace my "bad credit" credit cards for awhile now and decided that I may just be approved. This card offers a $0 annual fee for the first year and $40 thereafter but if you use your card at least once per year they waive the fee. I did not receive an instant approval but called about a week later to find out that I was approved. I'm very happy to finally have a "big kid" card! My credit limit is $5000 and having somewhat not great credit, I have to say that I was totally shocked to hear this. So far, I'm very impressed! Oh, one last note, the card doesn't carry any rewards that I'm aware of but I believe it has a pretty low interest rate (not sure what mine is yet) and offers the $0 annual fee which is what I was really after.




Title: My 1st Prime Card
Date Reviewed: 2009-11-23 15:17:08 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hi everyone, I bet you never thought you will see me in here again huh! Well, I snooped around on US Bank site and decided to shoot for this card since I was approved for a $500 line of credit from them some months ago, I thought it would be better to go this route since I am a student and chances were better. Well I did get the 7-10 day message (which depressed me), but when I opened up my email a few days later, I saw the Big Fat Congratulations all on the first sentence. They automatically added the card to my checking account, and I seen that I had a $500 limit. I will accept that with flying colors! The card recently arrived a few days ago, and I seen that my APR is 17.99, and the $20 annual fee will be waived upon the first purchase within one year. They pulled from Experian, which has about 17 inquires, credit score of 672 but no baddies on neither CB. TU and EQ are 658, and 662. Oh, and let's not forget that I do have high util on some of my cards. As far as rewards go, you get 1000 bonus points the very first time you use your card for your choice of merchandise, gift cards, cash back or travel. So if you earn up to 1,500 points, your get a choice of a $10 Barnes and Noble, Burger king, Starbucks, Panera Bread gift cards. For 3500 you can get a choice of $25 cash back via a statement credit, Applebee's, Amazon or Best buy gift card... Etc I already used the card to purchase Thanksgiving dinner, but that was on purpose so that I can play around with them for a few months and show them what I can do since I barely use the line of credit. Good Luck for those who choose to apply, I really encourage those who bank with US Bank, and students to give them a try, I do believe that is what helped me out.




Title: Received Card After Calling CSR
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-07 09:42:14 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I own a Harley Davidson motorcycle and kept getting offers in the mail with my statement to apply for the card but always ignored them. By chance, I applied for the card online with a 'promo code' and was given the 7-10 day decision answer. I got the decline letter in the mail and called the Customer Service number and talked to a rep and asked for a reconsideration since my credit score is around 715 and I have no bad information in my credit file, whatsoever. She said she'd put it through to the underwriter and take my comments into consideration. I had the card mailed to me within 5 days with a credit line of $4,000 and an introductory APR of 13.99%. It pays to call for a recon. Anyway, I got the card. Online setup for the account (paperless billing) took all of less than 5 minutes to set up. I'll keep everyone posted on card usage.




Title: Preapproval In The Mail !
Date Reviewed: 2010-02-23 03:21:59 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received a preapproval in the mail. It has an introductory rate of 1.9 % for 12 months. After the introductory rate it goes to 16.9 %. My scores were EX 732, EQ 735, TU 755. I applied on 2/12/10 online I received the 7 -10 day message. I received an email on 2/16/10 that I was approved. I didn't know CL until I got the card today. I also received another preapproval in the mail from them again today. I've received offers for this card before in the past. I finally decided to give US Bank a shot. I'm very pleased to say the CL is $5500. The rewards 3 points for every dollar spent. Also every dollar spent each month enters you in a chance to win a new Harley-Davidson motorcycle. Well I hope this information helps !




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2010-05-03 12:16:08 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: My wife got a pre-approval offer of a U. S. Bank FlexPerks Select Rewards Visa card. I applied online but didn't get an instant approval. Today I received an approval email. Now we are waiting new card to be delivered.




Title: Non Resident
Date Reviewed: 2010-06-27 21:42:28 | Recommended?: No

Review: Applied for this card and was denied due to non-resident?? Funny, thought most bank cards were out of town, why should this one be any different? Also, took about three weeks for decision, imagine that!!




Title: Shop Often This Is A Card
Date Reviewed: 2010-08-15 12:05:47 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got this card when HSBC, quit servicing them, thank god, US bank is so much better, it comes in either Visa Siggy or Platinum and the CL are generous! I have 22k on this baby, card is actually not bad lookiing compared to the old one, plus you get all the perks of a signature Visa.




Title: Great Bank
Date Reviewed: 2011-03-18 05:33:54 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Well have had them as a bank for some time but no cc, so decided to apply and was approved. Cli for the card is $4000 not sure what other promotions are coming with it. My FICO is 740 with trans union, not sure what they pulled will have to find out. They have been a great bank but never needed a cc with them. I think it will be 0% for 6 months.




Title: Replacement Card
Date Reviewed: 2011-08-16 23:51:43 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Well I had to ditch one of my old credit cards because the issuer decided to start charging an annual phee. Since I already had a reward credit card I decide to try for a couple low interest rate cards but got rejected by a major issuer as well as a small independent bank. Later on that year I was buying gear for my camping trip at REI and saw that they had a card. Every year I spend at least a couple hundred dollars at REI and was already a member so I figure this card would be good for me at least to show off to my backpacking friends. I applied on line and got approved but they kept on suspending my application because they didn't believe it was me. Then when I finally got the card they called a week later telling me the account number had been stolen, made me answer more security questions and then issue a new card to me.




Title: DENIED
Date Reviewed: 2012-02-29 22:22:48 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Denied for this one as well too many inquiries and too much debt.




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2012-07-06 00:31:27 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card and was approved for only a $500.00 credit limit. Not sure the reason for this, but in 6 months I'm going to ask them to up it. At least there's no annual fee which is a big plus.




Title: Low Credit Limit
Date Reviewed: 2012-07-25 23:58:14 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for the card on the Kroger website. US Bank approved the card, however..if the cards credit limit doesn't grow it's gone. I was approved for a 500 limit which by far sucks in comparison to my 15K chase credit limit or my 20K NFCU credit line. Score was 756 at time of decision, no lates, no collections, nothing derogatory.




Title: This Is Different....
Date Reviewed: 2013-01-01 15:02:51 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: My mom received an application to apply in the mail and being she needs some work done on her house she decided to take advantage of the 0 percent interest for 15 months. The online application did give an option for a joint application, something I didnt know credit card companies did anymore. So being she needed as large of a line needed as possible I decided to be a joint applicant. We were approved for $4,000. Not that high considering she has fico scores in the 800's and mine is around 700. I guess lenders are willing to give out credit to those who deserve it now days but at restrictive amounts. I have never had anything with this bank before so well see how it goes. Just applied last night so no experience on anything as of yet.




Title: U.S. Bank Cash+ Visa Signature Card
Date Reviewed: 2013-01-28 16:42:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: WOW! Became a US Bank customer and the personal banker submitted an application for me. Was approved with a 13.99% purchase apr and 23.99% cash apr and a no pre-set spending limit and no AF and a score 779. No promo for a BT. Card has 5%, 2% and 1% rewards categories and the cardholder determines what categories they want every calendar quarter. Requested CLI after twelve months and it was approved with a soft pull.




Title: Bankamericard Visa 1 2 3 Rewards
Date Reviewed: 2013-03-07 20:43:23 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied online and approved instantly for $5k. Not sure which score was pulled, but they were all in the 700-725 range with only 20k income. 12 months at 0% including balance transfers, which is why I applied. $100 bonus when spending $500 within first 3 months. (done :) ) $100 bonus was credited at first statements closing. The only negative points are that I received the signature Visa, which does not report the credit limit, so my utilization didn't go way down as I had hoped...and I wasn't able to make a payment online until my first statement came through. There is a 10% bonus on your rewards if you have your cash back deposited to a BOA account.




Title: Great Green
Date Reviewed: 2013-03-09 00:13:40 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: My experience is quiet limited, however I have enjoyed using Nr. Green.




Title: Uhm....ok?
Date Reviewed: 2013-09-12 20:43:31 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got a letter in the mail today saying I was approved for this platinum card along with a welcome packet along with the card because of my "excellent account history" with them. I have had an auto loan with them for about 6 months now. CL is only $1,100. My lowest CL. (my credit union credit card CL is $15,000). I guess i'll keep it. I didnt have to apply or anything so doesn't hurt to have it. I do like US bank so far I an excellent rate on my auto loan. (1.89% APR). My experian score is around 709 equifax is 701.




Title: The Rewards Are Just Ok...
Date Reviewed: 2013-10-01 14:13:54 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: If you have a Harley Davidson and you spend money at the dealer, apply for this card. The "chrome cash" rewards you get come in $25 increments and are only good for 6 months. No other type rewards are offered at this time so if you're into buying Harley gear, then it's worth it....otherwise, you can get better cash back or rewards with Discover or American Express and even Venture from Capital One and you're not just stuck with buying at the Harley dealer...because that's the only place you can use the chrome cash certificates. This card is offered by US Bank and their customer service is excellent.




Title: Harley Davidson
Date Reviewed: 2013-10-26 08:36:25 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I receive my Harley-Davidson Signature credit with a credit line of $6.500




Title: WOW! Approved And WOW!!!
Date Reviewed: 2014-01-07 12:08:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had recieved a pre approval in the mail for this card, and I shop Kroger quite frequently, the rewards seemed to be top notch! I applied on Friday and didnt recieve and instant decision, so today I get an email my application has been approved, but no other information was available, I called into customer service to inquire about the terms and limit, I was approved for a credit line of $17,000.00 with a promotional APR of 0% for nine months then and APR of 18.99% after. They pulled my TransUnion 04 Classic score, which came back at 748! US Bank rocks! This will be my go to card for fuel and groceries! Just blown away by the credit line!




Title: US BANK FlexPerks Travel Rewards Visa Signature
Date Reviewed: 2015-02-12 16:54:17 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: A different route to this card. Did a product change from a US Bank Cash+ Visa Signature due to the major reduction in categories that fit my spending pattern. Generally, I do not have annual fee (AF) cards in my portfolio but, this card did fit my travel needs with an AF of $49 for a lot of benefits. Many Travel, Hotel and Airline Cards AF's run $89 to $500 annually so unless you really travel a lot the rewards are hard pressed to offset the cost of the AF. Looking forward to seeing the results. FICO Score is 818 with 13.9% apr.




Title: Good Card To Earn Cash Or Gear
Date Reviewed: 2015-07-17 15:29:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I've had this card for several years and have nothing but good things to say about U.S. Bank's customer service. The reps have always been very pleasant, professional, and courteous. This card was a VISA until just a couple months ago and then changed to Mastercard, and that works for me because my Sam's Club doesn't accept VISA credit cards. Paying online is easy, but I wish the website would immediately show pending payments like a few of my other card issuers do. My rewards for a year come late in the first quarter of the next year and are added to my REI dividend check. Highly recommended all around, and a no-brainer for REI members who like to score new gear (or cash.)




Title: Perks Aren't Worth It
Date Reviewed: 2016-10-11 10:03:14 | Recommended?: No

Review: I've had this card for about a year now and it's taken me a long time to accumulate the points on it. I found out that 1000 points only gets you $5 off at your local Kroger store. Only getting a small amount off doesn't seem worth it to me. I've also had an issue with sending money through Western Union using the card. Apparently, they considered it to be a cash advance purchase and I was charged another $20. I don't think I'll be holding onto this card much longer.




Title: No Frills Card
Date Reviewed: 2016-10-14 07:34:50 | Recommended?: No

Review: I had this card a while back and I remember that it was nothing fancy. It took forever to earn points and then those points did not really get any great reward. I was quite surprised to be honest. If I remember correctly, it took 1000 points to get a $5 gift card to a store. To me that isn't even nearly worth the hassle. There are much better cards out there with easier ways to earn rewards.




Title: Credit Cards
Date Reviewed: 2017-04-18 13:03:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: All credit cards are not working good for my personal use .it was not supposed ask my review for the facts that all credit cards are just my stupid business that are not good .




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch