Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Reviews

See Premier Rewards Gold Card from American Express Details

This content is not provided by American Express. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by American Express. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Awesome Benefits!
Date Reviewed: 2016-09-10 14:54:52 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received my first Amex card last year. I called customer service to inquire on upgrade offers since I was at the 13 month mark. They said I could upgrade to the gold or premier gold. This was a no brainer. The regular gold does not compare to premier. With 2x points at gas stations, grocery stores, and restaurants you can earn rewards in no time. Customer service is top notch.




Title: Instant Approval!
Date Reviewed: 2014-03-12 01:11:39 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Took a turn on the creditcards.com pre-qualifier and this came up as a special offer. Apped and was instantly approved! Not sure if they did the pull on TU or EX (or both)...was pretty shocked that I was approved actually. Got $0 intro annual fee and 50K bonus MR points after spending $1K (better than the standard offers out there now). Also apped for Blue Cash Everyday but was declined...will try again for that one in a few months. Very happy to have my first AMEX. I've put in two long years of hard work cleaning my credit up and I definitely deserve this!




Title: Upgraded Green To Premier Rewards Gold
Date Reviewed: 2013-07-03 12:35:06 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: June 29 2012 I became an American Express Member with the Green Card. I called June 30th to upgrade to PRG and it took 3 seconds! PRG cards in the mail.... They bragged on my history and asked if there was anything they could do better. What a great company..... Love these AMEX guys.




Title: Approved For AMEX Cards
Date Reviewed: 2011-04-20 23:57:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received this card I am glad to be with AMEX. At this time I do not know my credit score. I am very happy I applied for the card. I am going to the garden for at least 2 years. I need to close some cards like the sub primes HSBC cards. They even back dated my cards to 1994. ZNYC, Sky Blue and Hilton HHonors all from AMEX.




Title: Upgrade Downgrade
Date Reviewed: 2010-08-09 12:42:31 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Last year, I applied for the Amex Green card and was approved but after a few months of having a basic Amex charge card, I was hit up with an offer for the Platinum card and I took the bait. Then after decideing that I wasn't willing to pay $450 AF for perks I wasn't going to use, I downgraded. The people on the customer service line were very nice and helpful with the downgrade. I ultimately decided that I would like the Premier Gold instead. My reason for choseing the Premier Gold instead of the regular Gold was because of the reward structure. I pay $175 a year in annual fees instead of $125. I like the reward structure of 3 points for every dollar for airfare, 2 points for every dollar on gas and groceries and 1 point for every dollar for everywhere else. I am a reward whore so I took the Premire Gold over the regular Gold. In the 1st month of having the card, you do have to pay the annual fee so I do have to be very careful about my spending. And you will have to pay the annual fee the same month every year that you carry the card. By using my card quite often, the points add up and I have redeemed some of them for gift cards.




Title: Received This Card In December 2009
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-07 12:56:58 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Upgraded to this card from standard Gold Card. Reason was for double points on many items. Rewards are somewhat better than standard Gold Card but below the Platinum Card of course. Annual Fee is increased and realize that the 2 points for every dollar spent at a grocery store applies to stand alone outlets, i. E., you can't go into a Wal Mart Superstore and buy groceries and expect to get the 2 point option, has to be something on the order of "Safeway (west), Krogers, Piggly Wiggly, you get the picture. Anyway for the $6000+ I spend at the grocery store every year nets me 12000 points I figure I can get an airline ticket in as little as 2 years just in grocery purchases. I would recommend this card for someone who is going to make all or the majority of their purchase using a card




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch