Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

See Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express Details
Gold Delta SkyMiles® Credit Card from American Express

This content is not provided by American Express. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by American Express. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: Got It
Date Reviewed: 2017-07-30 22:55:24 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Had an Amex in 2007 but lost it due to financial difficulties. Applied recently and was approved with $1000 limit. It's a start, i'm happy to be back with AMEX




Title: Approved For My 1st AMEX
Date Reviewed: 2013-06-13 03:19:06 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I went out on a limb and decided to apply to this card because I've always wanted to have an AMEX and also because I'm a skymiles member. After going on a mini app spree the past few days, I was approved for 2 other cards and said what the heck let me shoot for this amex card....and surprisingly I was approved but with a low $1000 CL. At this point I'm just happy I got in the AMEX club, and hopefully will go for that 3X CLI on my 61st day of having the card.




Title: Approved! Los Angeles, CA
Date Reviewed: 2012-10-25 21:14:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card Oct 19th 2012, received message to call Amex to process my online application, they were unable to pull my TU report, so I immediately unlock and said to re-try again. After a few minutes, she came and said that will give my application to her supervisor for review and to wait 7 days. I couldn't wait and so I call on Oct 23rd to check the status and a very nice lady answer my call and said to wait for the application to be process but later, she said that can give me a call back in 15 minutes to let me know if the applications] is approved or declined. Well, Anita called me back and said Congratulations! and Welcome to the American Express Family, I got approved for $6,600. My score with TU FICO score per Walmart shows 739 and currently I have on my report a BK from March '05. No other derogatory accounts on report, just the BK. I hope this information helps to anyone applying from Southern California.




Title: Approved!
Date Reviewed: 2012-10-02 14:36:23 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Was denied last month for the blue sky. Applied for the Delta card a month later and was approved for $5000. If you are going to apply, go to the Delta website first. The link on Delta has a better offer than the one directly on the Amex website. 35k miles after spending $750 in the first 3 months. ex768




Title: Glad I Followed Thru
Date Reviewed: 2011-12-04 12:05:14 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for the card online as was told that a decision would be forwarded. Recieved letter wanting to verify my address with current banking institution. Bank of America does not provide written verification. I followed up with AMX who had a special verification number for BoA customers. I was approved that day and received the card in two days since application process had already taken 2 months.




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2011-08-07 13:58:54 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this on Friday and got approved on Tuesday due to an alert on my credit report.




Title: Online Approval
Date Reviewed: 2011-06-24 08:11:41 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Experian score 780. Online approval. Limit unknown. Credit history: Mortgage 3 yrs, CapOne 3 yrs(Limit 500), CitiDiamondPrefered 1 yr (10,200), USAA 1 yr(1000). No negative accounts or late payment on any of my Credit Reports. Other than my mortage I have not debit. Limit unknown at this time. If you are interest in applying or building your credit I would suggest that you apply for a citi card first. Citi, in my experience is more generous with CL increases. I went from 1k to 10K in one year, with no hard pulls. CapOne has never increased my CL, USAA although an excellent bank is not generous with its CL. Each person has their own path to financial success. Credit is only a tool.




Title: Wasted A Hard Pull For Nothing!
Date Reviewed: 2010-11-16 19:42:03 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Went through some mail yesterday and decided to apply for this card due to the invitation received in the mail. I figured why not, my FICO is 700+, no late payments and my BK is almost 5 years old. Got a decline and called their CS number... Was told they don't approve BK unless it's been 8-10 years... Too hard to put that on the application I guess!




Title: Approved Today
Date Reviewed: 2010-08-23 20:41:18 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I have applied for the card last week and today I received email stating the application is approved. I do not know the credit limit yet.




Title: Instant Online Approval !!!
Date Reviewed: 2010-07-10 18:55:01 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Decided to apply for a American Express Card. I had two of their cards in the 90's. I had a Business Gold Card & Optima Card I decided to try them again. I applied for the rewards. It has no annual fee for the first year then $95 dollars. It also rewards with 25,000 bonus miles after the first purchase. I was approved for CL $2000 with scores from 720-750. I don't know which bureau they pulled yet.




Title: Stay Away From American Express
Date Reviewed: 2009-01-06 20:01:10 | Recommended?: No

Review: This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. They cut my credit limit in half for no reason which lowered my credit score for having a maxed out credit card. They then did the same thing to the other card I have. My score went from 742 down to 718 because of these people for no reason other than they are a poorly run company. I hope they go down in flames.




Title: Approved Today!
Date Reviewed: 2008-08-11 16:42:26 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I talked it over with my wife, I don't like credit cards at all, frankly, but in order to build credit, we decided (since she is always on this website and works as a Customer Care Professional for AMEX) to read about different cards. In no way did her job have any impact on getting approved, but I decided to apply for this card, with an Experian score of 633, and 1 charge-off from back in either 2000 or 2001 (it is so old I cannot even remember, but it is with Capital One, and I will pay that off eventually), also, I just have 1 other item on my credit, I am the additional card holder on an account with my wife, which she paid off in full last month. In any case, I went online on Sunday and applied Sunday afternoon, and the application status was "In Progress" until just now when I got a confirmation e-mail saying my AMEX application had been approved. I did not have to verify any of my information with them, I just patiently waited and got the e-mail today, and they said my card should arrive in 7-10 business days in a plain white envelope marked from Omaha, Nebraska. I am new to American Express and I signed up my wife as an Additional Cardholder and I will also make her the AAM (Authorized Account Manager) because she pretty much is a genius when it comes to managing financial "stuff" around the house and making sure we keep our credit perfect so we can take advantage of this "buyer's market" and buy a house within the next year, and this seemed like a great start for me to get my "feet wet" with credit AND get in the door with AMEX. Like I said, I really, really don't like credit cards and prefer to pay for things with the money I earn, and anything other than that means I am trying to live beyond my means, my wife is the same way, we are pretty simplistic people and spend most of our time and investment in nature and traveling. But, we will see how AMEX works out, and hopefully one or more of you guys will get to hear her sweet voice through customer service (hehe!). Thanks everyone for the great info on this site, it's awesome!




Title: STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAN EXPRESS!!!
Date Reviewed: 2008-08-06 16:52:25 | Recommended?: No

Review: I have this card and ever since I have a had it I have had the company calling me at work calling me at home asking me questions making me feel like I'm some criminal. I have never had any other credit card company's treat me this way or ask for information like I had them do with me. I wouldn't recomend any of their cards because once your in with them it's next to impossible to get out! I dropped all 4 cards I have with them and will never go back.




Title: Pushed My Luck
Date Reviewed: 2008-07-26 22:42:23 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied this evening. They pulled Experian. My credit score is 651 but was declined. I was able to see why immediately on their website as well.. 1)BK... Discharged back in 2000 2)Charge off... This was back in 2001 3)Excessive Inquiries This is exactly what my Experian report shows as negative. Everything else is fine. The charge off is scheduled to be deleted in 2009 and the BK in 2010. I guess I will have to wait until then but that's around the corner anyway.




Title: Holy Canoli!
Date Reviewed: 2008-07-26 14:06:28 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I just applied for this CC on a boredom whim. I had been reading that they pull Experian, and this morning I paid MyFICO.com to find out my real Experian score to be 655 in lieu of Experian's FAKO Creditexpert.com score of 566. Anyway, I have an AMEX in my wallet!! Woo Hoo!!




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2008-05-31 14:44:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this after finding this website. I have always been scared by American Express. Anyway, I applied online and was not given an instant decision and I was immediately scared. I called and was told they needed a home address verfication. After spending 20 minutes on the phone with AMEX and my bank I was told at the end of the call I was approved with a credit line of $1000. I will also be receiving 15,000 skymiles with my first purchase. I am very happy.




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2008-03-01 20:47:42 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied and was instantly Approved... Which was a shocker.. I received a CL of 1000$. 80$ A/F but not until your second year. Scores in the low 600's... I have already activated and let me tell you... I am scared to use it with all that is going on with AMEX lately... I will probably charge no more than 40$ per month and PIF until all of this passes.




Title: My First Amex
Date Reviewed: 2008-02-18 17:01:07 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied the other night even though I have no real need for another cc. Instant approval for $7900... I will update with my experience with this card. Fico at time of app was about 660.




Title: Can't Believe It!
Date Reviewed: 2008-01-31 14:25:59 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: After many years of suffering wtih subprime credit, I started cleaning up my reports last October. Went from scores in the low 500's to close to 700 today. Thought I'd try applying for this card as another reviewer mentioned AMEX was practically giving them away. Low and behold, they grace me with an $8100 limit. My jaw is still open. Should get it in 10 days and will be treating this baby like it's my first born. YEAH!!! :)




Title: Approved!!!!!!
Date Reviewed: 2008-01-31 06:18:12 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I feel bad for those who are in the Credit Addict Club since I promised them I won't apply for a new card but when I saw that I have a chance for an AMEX, I just had to do it. They approved me with $1,000 CL. My EXP score was 660 at the time and payment history was 6 months old. No lates, no bk's, very clean credit history. One question though, since I want the AMEX Blue, should I upgrade this card to the AMEX Blue or apply for it in 2 years? I'm still waiting on the card.




Title: Platinum Delta SkyMiles Credit Card
Date Reviewed: 2008-01-22 16:51:59 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Applied for the platinum not gold and said under review and a day later said approved. Received card with $3800.00 CL My first AMEX card, it feels good, considering a year ago my scores were in the 500's




Title: In Process
Date Reviewed: 2007-11-11 23:38:34 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: After going to creditboards.com and looking at the "creditpull" section, and reading the comments on here. I decided to go ahead and apply! Well it says in process, and when I checked the application status it says they need to verify my address. Which is resonable since I just moved 2 months ago. Freecreditreport.com score is 683. Dropped to a 647 after they pulled. But other than that...1 unpaid c/o from 2003 and 2 - 30day lates last year. Hope I get a generous limit. I'll let you all know when I call tomorrow if I was approved or not...




Title: I'm Loving This Card
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-09 03:29:10 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I think I'm going to make this my primary card. If anyone else is interested in applying, my credit score with Experian was 650; it had dropped significantly because of all the inquiries that I acquired within the last three months. I believe I have about 19 inquires, 1 charge off account and a few 30 day late payments from '05 and early part of '06. I applied for the gold card not realizing that the annual fee was $85.00 but this is waived the first year. Also, before I applied I called Amex and asked what card would I most likely qualify for if I applied again since I had already been denied for 4 other cards with Amex. The CSR told me to try for the Delta Skymiles or the Amex Blue.




Title: Couldn't Help Myself...
Date Reviewed: 2007-10-03 05:00:53 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I had my eye on this card since I started my credit repair. Was nervous about applying, but took a chance. Approved instantly... Yeah!!! Pulled Exp 660 report has one baddie from 3/06. Now my eye is on the Gold Card but I will wait at least 6mos before I apply for anything else since I have picked up 4 new cards in the last 2months.




Title: Pending
Date Reviewed: 2007-09-17 18:10:21 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Thought I would take a chance and apply for this card knowing that AMEX has already declined me for 4 of their cards already. (expect for the AMEX Green & Gold Cards) Well I didn't get an instant decline or approval but a pending status. Does anyone know if this is good or is this just another way of saying declined, you're letter will be in the mail within the next 14 days. Should I call them to find out the status or wait until I hear from them?




Title: Just Received
Date Reviewed: 2007-07-18 00:53:11 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Just received this card this past Monday. I hope this card is good. I always wanted a card with an American Express logo on it.




Title: Excellent Card
Date Reviewed: 2007-07-18 00:40:33 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: FICO of 600+ Required Only, No Bankruptcies to apply.




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch