First PREMIER® Bank Credit Card Reviews



This content is not provided by First PREMIER® Bank. Any opinions, analyses, reviews or recommendations expressed in this article are those of the author's alone, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by First PREMIER® Bank. Review content is powered by Finance Globe.


Title: So Far So Good...
Date Reviewed: 2009-12-30 20:39:22 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card and was approved pending the first payment of 25.00. And that was it. Had some questions about payments and when I called customer service they were very prompt and accurate with answers. the only thing I don't like is using their web site to make payments. Only cause I don't receive anything by email that confirms payment. It shows on the site though. Other wise have had the card for 2 months and have no complaints. I think this will be a good card for ppl trying to repair their credit like myself




Title: Surprising
Date Reviewed: 2010-01-19 22:35:18 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got a pre-approval in the mail and decided to take advantage. To my surprise, I got this in the mail today which was 1 week after applying for this card. The credit limit was $325. This card takes a portion of the for the program fee. My available credit is 146.00 Not bad.




Title: Good Starter No Complaints
Date Reviewed: 2010-03-24 18:16:49 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I got this card in June of 09 as my second card in response to an mail offer. The interest rate was 9.9% but now 20.49% after the credit card bill. I pay 7 dollars a month for a fee plus another 7 if I don't mail a check to them. There is also an annual fee I believe but I am not sure what that is. When I got it I had a 275.00 limit and 6 months after I got it received a 150.00 credit limit increase. I pay on time every month and although it is expensive. I also have a $500.00 secured card with Citi that I have had since 07 and I am looking to get another credit card and maybe a store card. Any idea's? Orchard bank pre-qualified me and I am wondering if capital one might be another good one. For the store card I was thinking Target or Best Buy any ideas there either? I would recommend this card if you are prompt with your payments and even more so if you mail checks. Scores: Ex 594 EQ 622 TU 630




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2010-04-20 06:37:18 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: After few months finally get approved with $300.00 credit limit. My Score is Good 775




Title: HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL .
Date Reviewed: 2010-05-10 19:14:22 | Recommended?: No

Review: I am writing this review hoping to safe somebody from making one of the worst mistakes that one can do, I will star by reminding anybody that reads this review that the length of credit history counts for about 30% to 35% of your credit score, I open this account in February 2009 and it was my first account, the fees were outrageous but I didn't know better ( application fee= $35 ; acceptance fee=$143 ; monthly service fee =$7 ; annual fee =$ 49 ) I have this card now for 15 month paying in full every month, never late and still not credit limit increase ( $200 dollars ) and every time that a call they refuse to give a CLI but they approve me for another credit card, that means more fees, what I am trying to say is since this is my first account, I cant close it even now that I have establish credit because it will lower my credit score by lowering significantly the length oh my credit history, so my advice is to star with a secure credit card or another card that will grow with you. Hope this help.




Title: Okay Card To Start Off
Date Reviewed: 2010-06-01 23:41:40 | Recommended?: No

Review: I do recommend this card if you are looking to rebuild credit and don't care about having a respectable credit line. Heads up, I've checked out multiple websites that say they are changing their interest rate to 70.99. I know this sounds unbelievable, but theses guys are shady, and want to counter the new credit card laws by coming up with loopholes. Beware! You will start off with $50 - $70 after fees once you have the card. I was approved with a 561 FICO for a $250 limit. I never missed a payment. I just paid them off and canceled. So happy I did. I seemed to never make a dent in the balance. Now, I use Orchard Bank who I think is officially the best for subprime credit. Great rates, no fees, and good website.




Title: First Premier Review
Date Reviewed: 2010-06-05 21:45:57 | Recommended?: No

Review: I accepted the First Premier card preapproval letter because I had decided to begin re-establishing my credit and they were finally sending me offers for a credit card that would not make me pay up front fees that would take up a portion of the credit cards balance. When I got the card, it was for the full 300, I was not charged any of the other fees, which was nice for once, however, when I read the terms, I noticed that the annual apr was 79.9 %. Obviously this was nuts, but I knew this was the case, so I have kept this card only as a credit rebuilder and tucked away in my sock drawer. Good thing, reports to all three bureaus, so helps yoru credit and that is a good thing! Could be why I was just able to get a Capital One card with 0% apr and a Jcpenny card, not sure. Negative, fees are outrageous, but comes with the risk of taking on bad credit people like ourselves I guess. As long as you don't charge daily living items on this card you will be fine. Charge small items and pay off in full, that will look much better on your credit then lots of finance charges and high credit balances. Also, no credit line increases until card has a 13 month history and when that happens, they will charge your card 50.00, that's crazy! Lol My best advice for this card, use it for the experience of having an open revolving credit line, but put it in a sock drawer and don't use, the fees arent worth the headache and if you close the account too early, it could harm your credit also.




Title: Rebuilder High Interest
Date Reviewed: 2010-07-17 20:47:43 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I received a preapproval for this card in the mail 10/09. I had been credit free for about 6 years from absuing credit in college. I was leary of fees, but this offer did not take any fees or AF out of the $300 credit line, however, the catch was the APR was 79.9%. The card reports to each CRA on time each month and I have paid timely and kept the balance close to 0 and paid in full to avoid the costly fees. About 6 months later, I got a preapproval for Capital One platinum MasterCard in the mail for 300 and then a few months later I got an instant approval for a 200 JcPenney credit card. Just last week, I got the biggest shock of my life when Walmart approved me for a 1200 credit limit and chevron/texaco gas card approved me for 350. Im waiting for my new cards, but without the help of the first premier to show good payment history, I don't think I could have gotten these cards on my own. The card is now in my sock drawer and I am awaiting a good time to close the account, when it wont negatively affect my credit score. The major cons of course are the interst fees, no credit limit increase for 13 months and when they do give a cli, they charge you $50, poor customer service on the phone, the feeling of having a second rate card. For me, the card served its purpose and while the rates are enough to steer many away, if you cannot get another rebuilder that reports to all 3 CRAs, then you may consider this for a short term solution, only if you treat it carefully and PIF monthly so that they don't kill you with fees. Hope this helps...




Title: Pre-Approved In The Mail
Date Reviewed: 2010-09-15 17:41:37 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Credit Line 800.00... Interest 23.9 Annually Fee 174.00 billed At 14.50 per month... What Do You Guys Think? My Score is 640




Title: First Premier Bank Platinum
Date Reviewed: 2011-02-02 00:24:36 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Hello my name is Vinney and I would like inform the readership on this comment board that I believe that as far as concerning First Premier Bank's Platinum Mastercard Credit Card it really can certainly be an asset as far as applying for and securing one for the purpose of reastablishing a positive credit history and not to mention the convenience of having said card in one owns possession. I was somewhat astonished though in that shortly after I had submitted my application to First Premier Bank that in about a week I received a letter notifying me that I had been approved and that all I had to do was pay or submit the processing fee of $95.00 and that within 07 to 10 ten days I would receive my credit via the US Postal Service and sure enough I certainly did. What I did was that upon receiving a letter notifying me that I had been approved for the credit card I immediately proceeded to call them on their 800 toll-free number that they had provided and informed them that I would like pay the $95.00 fee via my debit card----now, however what you must also know is that on top of you having to fork over the $95.00 processing fee they will immediatly deduct an additional $75.00 annual fee from your credit card bringing your overall credit balance available to you in the amount of $300.00 down to $225.00. Now mind you, it is only a once a year annual fee though quite steep it might be-and then of course you may look forward to your first initial payment in the amount of $30.00 due by the 05th of each month-and so the cost of convenience as far as owning an unsecured genuine credit card, however I can't complain-and by the way their customer service, it's OK! Vinney-02/01/11




Title: Approved
Date Reviewed: 2011-02-02 13:41:48 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Surprised on Approval I needed a Credit Card to rebuild my credit since I had to file a Chapter 7 3 Years Ago. I have a 589 Score on Transunion, 613 Experian and 618 Equifax My wife also got approved today, she has 627 Transunion Score, 632 Equifax and 628 Experian Sores. She had just 1 payment over 30 days in 2 Years of Credit History.




Title: $700 Credit Limit
Date Reviewed: 2011-03-31 17:39:26 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Thought I was getting the usual $300 credit limit preapproval but to my surprise it said $700 so I thought maybe first premier offered regular credit cards but alas the same ole fees applied, still I thought $700 is quite high for them isn't it?




Title: Really?
Date Reviewed: 2011-10-13 15:38:37 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Before even pulling my credit they informed me my APR would be......get ready......36.99%, a one time processing fee of $175 and an annual fee after that of $49. Get real!!!! I did not agree to submit my application. They are insane with those terms!!!!




Title: Tremendous Start Up Fees
Date Reviewed: 2011-12-20 13:17:36 | Recommended?: No

Review: Up to $175 **UPFRONT** for a small credit limit. If you are just starting I would suggest Orchard or Capitol One. Also both have soft pull pre selector options.




Title: It Helped Me...But....
Date Reviewed: 2012-01-16 16:53:23 | Recommended?: No

Review: I received this card back in 2007. I had a 9.9% interest rate and a $60 annual fee with a $325 CL. It was one of only a couple of cards I could qualify for. Once the financial crisis hit my interest rate jumped to 19.9%, the annual fee went to $75 and now the interest rates run from 36% to over 70%, plus an application fee. In my opinion it was worth it before, but I can't say that now.




Title: Premier Forward Mastercard
Date Reviewed: 2012-08-15 18:48:49 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I appplied and got it on first try. I had to pay the $95 first annual fee up front but better than secured card.




Title: Good Card To Rebuild Your Credit
Date Reviewed: 2012-10-24 15:22:22 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: The fees are pricy & the interest is high. However, I only use this CC for like gas & food; then I pay off the balance every month. One of the things I like about this CC is First Premier DO report to all of the bureaus and they do increase your line of credit (for a fee). The downfall will be the fees, but if you are responsible and use it on only the purchases you can afford and pay the balance off each month; then you will not have to worry about the high interest.




Title: $200 Credit Increase
Date Reviewed: 2013-01-02 12:42:56 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: My husband has had this card for a year and received an $200 increase for good payment history. I know they have alot of fees, but we are rebuiling our credit and this card does help. Also offered there platinum card. Plan too use for two years and then close it.




Title: Approved $300
Date Reviewed: 2013-04-10 01:08:04 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: Approved for $300 overall okay fee's are very high but need the good tradeline on my credit report best of luck everyone




Title: Denied
Date Reviewed: 2013-05-29 13:49:01 | Recommended?: No

Review: No surprise... Rebuilding and at 571, and it says This offer is not available to residents of Wisconsin.




Title: Mixed Feelings/Just To Rebuild
Date Reviewed: 2015-01-15 01:20:50 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I recently obtained this card a few days ago. Applied on December 12, 2014...was approved on December 31, 2014, and received the card on January 12, 2015...so a one month turnaround. I thought that was a little long, but I will admit I had one of these years ago, and I defaulted on the account, so I believe they were contemplating whether or not to give me second chance. I am grateful that they did... This is the standard card. It came with a $75 processing fee, which I had to pay to open the account, which now I see at there website the fee is $95, so they must of just raised it or I just got lucky and saved $20...also a $75 annual fee for the first year, which was billed to my account, which I already paid via debit card, so now I have the full $300 starting credit line available to me and a zero balance. The debit card payment I did over the phone and it was free, you just can't set up the same day, or there is an $11 fee for that(ouch), so I just picked the following day, and it posted at midnight, and is available to use, no payments holds. That is how I'll make future payments, as their website says EFT payments can take up to 20 days to release your available credit...way to long! No other fees for the first year. Can't carry a balance at 36% APR...always Pay in Full. Year 2 annual fee drops to $45, but then the good old monthly participation fee kicks in at $6.25 a month...I just bit the bullet on the fees to rebuild credit. It is already reporting on my credit report! Score has risen 60 points this past month, as I have opened a few new accounts to start to repair poor credit. I am done for now, satisfied with the accounts I have obtained. I will have 4 major credit cards reporting, plus a Fingerhut account as well. It looks like I can get a CLI after month 13, but a fee will be charged, 25% of what ever it is...oh well, but bad credit is MY FAULT, I accept that, so I have to pay the price, but I am grateful for the second chance. I will use the card for everyday items and see how it goes. I didn't like the fact that my card come to be ALREADY ACTIVATED. I didn't have to call them at all...that just seemed odd to me, not very secure in my opinion, but nothing happened fortunately I received it just fine. Also it said they will charge me a one time fee of $4.95 to access my account on-line, although that has not occurred as of yet... This was an expensive card, but a lesson to me for past bad behaviors. I hope my review helps someone out there, and I will certainly report future experiences.




Title: First Premier Bank Credit Card
Date Reviewed: 2015-10-05 01:34:34 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: First let me say about Premier Bank and their credit cards it's pretty simple pay in a timely fashion ask for increase credit limit periodically even the first year and ask for overdraft to be reimbursed are late payment fees and Premier Bank will serve you this was my first card and I'm very pleased with it as above thank you Chuck




Title: First PREMIER® Bank
Date Reviewed: 2016-10-23 07:01:51 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: If you are looking for a credit card with no surprises and average to above average customer service, First Premier may be the card for you. I have dealt with them on 2 different occasions roughly 20 years apart with 2 different credit scores and I have no complaints. The interest rates are accurately reflective of your score as is the limit they give you. The biggest selling point I can give anyone is that, regardless of whether your score is good or bad, they treat you with the same amount of respect.




Title: ONE YEAR
Date Reviewed: 2017-02-01 21:33:16 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I applied for this card & was approved over a year ago. Starting limit of $300. Have had no problems with this card. Yes, I did read all the fine print & understood the fees structures. I like this card & the fees don't bother me at all. IF it did, I would have bothered applying for it. I recently asked them about a credit limit increase. Waiting for their approval.




Title: First Premier Bank Mastercard
Date Reviewed: 2017-07-16 23:02:12 | Recommended?: Yes

Review: I Have Had This Card First Premier Bank MasterCard, For About A Month It Started Me Out With A $300.00 Credit Limit, And YES! I Know About There Fee's! But Before You Say, It's To Much! It's A Lot Better Than You! Putting Money On A Secure Credit Card, Think About This For A Moment! On A Secure Credit Card, That Credit Card Company, Will Charge You Fee's As Well! And Not Only That! But They Are Charging You Fee's! With YOUR OWN MONEY! I Use First Premier MasterCard To Pay For My Netflix.com,Hulu.com, And My CBS.com. All Of Which Are LOW! Monthly Billing's! Around $20.00 Or More. Once I Have Done That I Shredded My Card, And Then Each Month I Pay My Charge's Off, That My Card Was Billed For! And NOW! I Have One Of The MOST BEST CREDIT CARDS YOU CAN GET! I Have An American Express And They Started Me Off! With A Credit Limit Of $3,000 With No Annual Fee! *A*W*E*S*O*M*E!




Add Your Review

Say Hi & Get in Touch